Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a big hit at my Christmas Day brunch. I followed the reviews that suggested getting Pepperidge Farm Brown Sugar Cinnamon bread and cubing it. Also skipped the raisins based on personal preference. Use lots of apples! I thought it would be too much, but could have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I halved the recipe and it tasted and smelt great - not very pretty, though! I soaked the bread first per the other reviews and left out the butter by mistake, but didn't miss it at all. It was a great way to start Christmas morning and the leftovers were just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
We loved this recipe. With only 2 of us, we halved the recipe and it came out great. I think I might add some pecans next time just for a variety, as it was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I love this recipe. I do not include the raisins and I sprinkle cinnamon sugar lightly over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love this recipe! Quick and Easy. Great for families with working parents. We love this at our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This dish was okay, nothing extraordinary! I did cut the cream cheese in half since so many others thought it had too much, and I used lowfat half and half. I think some vanilla would make this dish better and possibly some cinnamon/sugar sprinkled on top. Another option would be to sweeten the cream cheese. It definitely needed the extra maple syrup on top to give it some flavor and sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Read the reviews before making this recipe. Based on the reviews, I made a half-recipe in the same size pan, arranging the fruit around the bread so the bread would soak up the egg mixture. I couldn't figure out how the bread could soak up the egg mixture when placed on top of the fruit. Anyway, what do they say about planning ahead? I didn't make my planned trip to the grocery store, so ended up using peaches and dried cherries (what I had) instead of apples and raisins (which I still want to try). I also did not put the additional cinnamon into the egg mixture; just sounded like a LOT of cinnamon... So after all that, the bottom line is that this was good, even with the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly as stated, except for using texas/french toast bread. I came out great! Everyone loved it. My son said the bread was mushy, but I didn't think it was mushy at all. Just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
My DH made this for breakfast and the end result was pretty good, although we found it a tad on the sweet side (but we added maple syrup before tasting it). We also found that there is too much bread for the egg mixture, so we had to increase the egg/milk mixture. We may make this again, but probably not for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I made this for our morning playgroup. This is quite a bit of food and the whole thing was gone! I also added some craisins as well This is one of my all time favorite recipes now! Just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States