Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I made this for Easter with the in-laws coming over. It got rave reviews! Great recipe!!!! I also substituted 1/2 c of the milk with heavy cream. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Very Tasty. I tried to make a bit healthier and I substituted Pepperidge Farm Whole Wheat Swirl Cinnamon Raisin bread. I also only used 1/4 cup of butter. The recipe was still very good and I would make this way again. However, I have made this recipe with the full 1/2 cup of butter and regular Cinnamon Raisin (not whole wheat) and I must say it is better that way. I guess it depends on if you feel like being a little naughty or not. I did quickly soak bread in the egg mixutre prior to layering onto the apple mixture and poured the excess over the bread afterwards. This assures it is not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good recipe. Two guests have already requested the recipe. The only thing I changed was I cubed the bread instead of slicing to make serving easier. I also mixed the apples in with the bread instead of leaving on bottom of pan. Just because of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very east to make, but it came out of the oven "wetter" than I thought it should. I let it stand for the recomended time before serving hoping some of the liquid would absorb or thicken up, but it didn't. Better texture the next day. Tasty though. Be sure to use "baking apples" so they get soft. My apples stayed a little too hard and didn't absorb the liquid. vk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This recipe was such a hit at brunch. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We really enjoyed this casserole. I made it just as the recipe stated and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alpha, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was great! I had to bring a breakfast item into work for a brunch we were having and i pick this one. It seemed easy enough and I could prepare it ahead of time. Well everyone raved over it and asked me for the recipe... There were no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This is so delicious! I used whole grain french baguettes and Splenda/brown sugar blend to make it a tad healthier. I used some of the suggestions from others and soaked the bread first. I like the fruit mixture on top and tried this the 2nd time making it, but the bread burned on the bottom this way--hopefully due to the oven I used--old and not mine! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wow! Absolutely delicious! I've made this casserole many times already because it's ideal when you have guest staying the night. Just pop it in the oven and enjoy the morning coffee and conversation while it bakes! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.Kroeker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Casserole was just so-so, it was very sweet and I used only 1/2 of the sugar as recommended by other users. It was good with cinnamon raisin bread, but that did not affect the sweetness, the apples just didn't cut it. Will likely not make again real soon. Have had better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States