Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved it! Made a few changes....less sugar, cooked sausage and mixed with the apples and raisins. Soaked whole wheat sandwich bread and then poured over dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Did not read instructions clearly before starting, so this was made right before we wanted to eat it - no refrigerating. Oops! Turned out great with a couple small changes to compensate for that. To help them "soak up the sauce", I soaked each piece of bread in the egg mix for a few seconds before putting it in the pan, then pressed the tops down with a fork before pouring the egg mix over top. This was with a proper french baguette - crunchy crust and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I had this recipe years ago Thanksgiving morning with my sister-in-law's family. I finally made it this year. I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. After I poured the egg mixture over, my bread was far from soaked. I separated everything out again, arranged the bread in the pan, poured the egg mixture over, and let it soak for half an hour. Then I flipped the bread, put the apple mixture on top, and continued as instructed. We thought it was very good, and my husband said it was even better the second morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made a few minor changes, but this was fabulous! Instead of using a French baguette, I just made some white bread in my breadmaker and cut it to about 1-inch thick pieces. Then, I used 8 eggs instead of 6 (tried 6 orginially, just wasn't enough) and I baked it for 50 minutes covered, then 7 more minutes uncovered. Best French toast I've had in AGES, maybe EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Made it following recipe but added 2 extra eggs to make it heartier and didn't let it rest overnight. Great recipe - will make again. Six friends all asking for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Actually, I've never made this with apples and raisins, but it's ACES with peaches! Like others, I add a little nutmeg with the cinnamon, and I've used half-and-half instead of milk. I find it works best when the bread is packed tightly on top - it absorbs virtually all of the egg mixture, and I try to make each piece of bread about 2-3" square, to aid in serving. On the rare occasions when I have some left over, I find it's almost as good the next day. This has got to be my favorite of all the recipes I've found here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Used Texas Toast without raisins in one batch which I really liked. Used raisin bread in another which also received high praises. Next time will take the middle road and try cinnamon Texas Toast and raisins. Soaked the bead first as suggested. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Yum! Made it for Christmas morning for my in-laws. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and it was SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Outer edges were good, but the center was too soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States