Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Made this for Easter breakfast, Too sweet, too much butter. I would make it again with half of the brown sugar and half of the butter called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Simply divine! The only change I made was using egg bread from the bakery. I cut it into large cubes and made sure each was drenched in the batter before layering over the apples. We ate this for New Year's Day and everyone had large second servings! I think this will be my New Year's Day brunch meal going forward. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah W
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Based on other reviews, in order to cut down some fat, I used 3/4 C brown sugar and only 1/4 C butter. Also, I used a loaf of raisin bread from the bakery section of the store - I think the result was great. I took each bread slice and soaked it for 1-2 minutes, before laying over the apples (rather than pouring the egg mixture.) Midway through making this recipe, I realized it was supposed to be refrigerated overnight. I went forward with it and the french toast turned out totally fluffy and moist - so I don't actually know what the benefit of sitting overnight would be. The flavor was great, though the vanilla was a bit overpowering and I will reduce a bit next time. I was craving seconds by lunchtime! I kept this in the fridge for almost a week and had it for breakfast, and it never lost its flavor or texture. This would be delicious as a dessert, too, with vanilla ice cream and a hot brandy sauce. Yum! Will make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Little too sweet on the bottom layer, it overwhelmed the french toast part
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
So delicious!!! Made this Christmas eve for breakfast on Christmas day. Was a huge hit. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was great!!!! My family loved it!!!!It got a 5 star review from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used Sara Lee cinnamon raisin bread and cubed them and tossed them in the egg mixture instead of pouring it on top. I think the flavor was good, I'm not sure if I didn't cook it long enough but the bread was kinda soggy and there was alot of liquid still in the bottom with the apples. If I tried this again I would probably not pour the excess liquid in the casserole after tossing the bread in the egg mixture. It cam out too wet. But over all I love the idea and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Pretty great. But I have some hints if you're just making it for a family of four like I did. The best way to get a great, slightly lighter, casserole that can satisfactorily feed 4: 1) Grease the bottom of a 9X13 thouroughly with 1 TB butter 2) Combine two beaten eggs with 1 cup of milk( maybe 1/4 c more), 1 ts vanilla, cinnamon and then pour into the greased pan 3) Layer 8 pieces of bread, sliced into strips( I cut each slice into 3 strips and then cut in half horizontally to get squares) into the bread and let it soak 4) Add 2 chopped apples, 2 TB brown sugar, raisins, nuts like walnuts or pecans( a must!) over the bread- that part can actually be added the next morning. If you want it a little richer, I would suggest combining another TB of butter with the apple mixture. I used 100 % whole grain sandwhich bread...I like that much better for french toast because I love the crust part:) Best if can serve it with some homemade vanilla syrup, no weird high fructose corn syrup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Yum yum yum! I've made it 2x's now and it's sooo good! I did use some leftover pound cake so it's really sweet but just so darn good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I usually substitute Craisins (dried cranberries) for the raisins...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKKathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States