Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sparro
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I thought this was easy and tasted very yummy! I read the reviews, but decided to follow the recipe as is and it turned out perfect. I used the french bread and cut them 1 in. thick and everything was moist, but not over soggy. My family can't wait for me to make it again. I will admit it is quite sweet, so I may cut back on the sugar, but that is a personal preference. Overall an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We swapped out raisins for cranberries. It had a good flavor but it was a little wet and custard like for my family's tastes. They liked the crispy top of the bread but the part just over the fruit was a bit soggy. I baked it for longer than it said to but it didn't help. They asked me to make my regular French toast next time but cook the apple cranberry mix on the stove and pour it on top. So at least they liked the flavor if not the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
AMAZING- so perfect to make night before for holiday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was the best overnight casserole I've ever made! I used homemade cinnamon bread, and 7 eggs since I was using eggs from our chickens and they were smaller. Delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I thought it would of been a bigger hit with my children. Definately good for Christmas morning, easy to prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
3 simple changes. replaced 1 c of milk with half and half,used pepperidge farms cinnamon raisin bread cut into quarters and added a tsp of nutmeg. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was delicious. It took a bit longer than expected to cook and still was a little soggy but very tasty. Surprisingly saucy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
loved this!..took a loaf of cinnamon raisin and cut slices in half along with maybe 6 slices of a plain french loaf since so many people said their center was soggy...i cut the milk amount to 1 cup and also melted the butter in a sauce pan and added the apples til they softened this made the mixture kinda watery but i think by doing this and cutting down the milk amount the bread was able to really absorb the egg and apple juices over night so that i had no problem with a soggy center
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this for company this weekend. I decided to make 1.5 times the recipe to ensure I had enough. I made one batch in a 9x13 pan and another in an 8x8 pan. I did everything as directed (serves 18 instead of 12) except I used 4 apples and only one stick of butter. I also used 1-1/2 loaves of raisin cinnamon bread. I put this together around 9 pm and popped it in the oven the next morning at 8 for 45 minutes covered. I uncovered the pans and baked for 15 minutes and ended up raising the temperature to 400 degrees for another 10 minutes to get a nice crispiness to the top. I thought it was sweet, but several of my guests had seconds and everyone talked about how great this tasted. The larger pan was the soggier of the two. I tasted from both pans and found I preferred the casserole from the 8x8, which was less soggy. Served this with sausage links, orange juice and coffee. I'll definitely have this again next time we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome! My kids loved it. It was like french toast over hot apple pie. Placing the bread over the apples keeps them from getting soggy overnight too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States