Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was great!!!! My family loved it!!!!It got a 5 star review from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used Sara Lee cinnamon raisin bread and cubed them and tossed them in the egg mixture instead of pouring it on top. I think the flavor was good, I'm not sure if I didn't cook it long enough but the bread was kinda soggy and there was alot of liquid still in the bottom with the apples. If I tried this again I would probably not pour the excess liquid in the casserole after tossing the bread in the egg mixture. It cam out too wet. But over all I love the idea and the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Pretty great. But I have some hints if you're just making it for a family of four like I did. The best way to get a great, slightly lighter, casserole that can satisfactorily feed 4: 1) Grease the bottom of a 9X13 thouroughly with 1 TB butter 2) Combine two beaten eggs with 1 cup of milk( maybe 1/4 c more), 1 ts vanilla, cinnamon and then pour into the greased pan 3) Layer 8 pieces of bread, sliced into strips( I cut each slice into 3 strips and then cut in half horizontally to get squares) into the bread and let it soak 4) Add 2 chopped apples, 2 TB brown sugar, raisins, nuts like walnuts or pecans( a must!) over the bread- that part can actually be added the next morning. If you want it a little richer, I would suggest combining another TB of butter with the apple mixture. I used 100 % whole grain sandwhich bread...I like that much better for french toast because I love the crust part:) Best if can serve it with some homemade vanilla syrup, no weird high fructose corn syrup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Yum yum yum! I've made it 2x's now and it's sooo good! I did use some leftover pound cake so it's really sweet but just so darn good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it! I usually substitute Craisins (dried cranberries) for the raisins...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKKathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Just leave out the raisins or exchange for dried apricot or craisins. Also make a topping sauce of squirtable cream cheese and brown sugar to decorate the top. Fed 300 ladies at the Circus Breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
this was delicious. used about a half a loaf of bread. i sliced it into 1 in stips instead of whole slices 1 in thick. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have made this the past few years for Thanksgiving brunch for my family and they LOVE it! It is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Fantastic flavor. Might make a few tweaks next time though, since the apples were still kind of crisp and there was some extra liquid from the apples in the bottom of the pan. We had a similar recipe at a Bread & Breakfast in Wisconsin, and they cooked the apples in brown sugar on the stove top prior to baking. I would do that plus add a little dry tapicoa to the apples to absorb any excess liquid from the apples. Used Honey Crisp and Liberty apples (sweet and tart) from our recent trip to Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yummo!!! I'm not sure about some of the other reviews but I had no problems with this recipe. I tried it exactly the way it was written to *see* for myself how it turned out. The only thing I omitted was vanilla because I had none and I added a bit of nutmeg and probably more cinnamon then it call for lol. Other than that, that was it! It was sooooooooooo yummy!!!! OMG, I couldn't get over the taste! Totally not too sweet which I kinda worried about with the brown sugar and apples. I even splashed it with maple syrup afterwards but didn't need it. I did cook this at 200C for 40 minutes uncovered. I don't like my French Toast dried out, not how it should be, so it was perfect; moist and spongy ;) I also let it stand the extra 5 minutes, could have stood longer only cause it holds the heat. The other thing is FYI NZers: I only used 24 slices of French bread cut between 1-1.25 inches in thickness. I think our French sticks must be denser cause I weighed out a pound but was too much. Totally recommend giving this one a go ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States