Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I requested something to do with my poor Golden Delicious apples and this was suggested. I made this morning for my coworkers and they gobbled it up! The only thing I changed was I used 1/4 cup butter. Will keep to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
We loved this - and it's hard for me to find a breakfast recipe that everyone will like. I did omit the raisins, and put the apple mixture on the top rather than on the bottom but otherwise I followed the recipe as written regarding measurements etc, we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great! Everything worked out just right! I did the recipe just as it is written and my whole family loved it! This is without a doubt something I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was good and easy to make. Followed others advice and soaked Pepperidge Farm bread in the egg before spreading over apples. Also cut sugar down to 3/4 cup and halved the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this over the weekend using some leftover oatmeal bread. I also followed the advice of others and cut WAY back on the butter (for the half-recipe I made, I used 2 tablespoons). I also put the apple-raisin mixture on top of the bread to allow any extra juicy yumminess to soak down into the bread. It turned out REALLY GOOD! A great cross between baked oatmeal and french toast, and certainly a perfect way to start a brisk day. My husband and son are already asking me to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
While this came out moist and buttery - it really wasn't anything special and no one asked me for the recipe or told me it was good. I made it twice and both times it was mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I prepared this for Sunday brunch. This was FANTASTIC! The only changes I made, however, were to halve the butter (1/4 c was plenty!), add allspice to the apple mixture for richer "pie" taste, and I sprinkled the top with a little more brown sugar, cinnamon, and raisins. Delicious! Will definitely be trying this for Christmas day as well. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HereEatThis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I've been making this for 6 years now at camp and it is always a big hit! The kids prefer that I leave out the raisins, they are not used to eating raisins in Europe! Go figure! With or without the raisins this is a GREAT recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Good. Very easy to put together. I used SunMaid Cinnamon Raison bread and put it at the bottom with the apple mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this for my breakfast day at work and it was a huge hit! I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier and it still came out fantastic! Here are my changes: 1) used one loaf whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread, cubed and toasted at 450 for 10 minutes (stirred bread cubes halfway through toasting); 2) used 1 cup egg beaters and 2 eggs (didn't have enough egg beaters to fully substitute, but will probably use all egg beaters next time); 3) mixed bread with egg mixture in bowl and then poured into bottom of casserole dish. 4) Spread apple/raisin mixture and syrup on top of bread (the apples tasted like baked cinnamon apples & were amazing!); 5) Baked covered for 30 minutes...had to bake almost 45 minutes uncovered to get to the right texture; 6) Dusted with powdered sugar just before serving. Next time I'll definitely cut back the butter to 1/4 cup--the top looked like it was swimming in butter at first and I had to drain it and blot with paper towels. I think my cooking time will be greatly reduced with less butter too--I was trying to get it to dry out after blotting the extra off! All in all, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States