Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I tried this after reading all the reviews but was still not happy enough to use it again. The bread was way too mushy & it didn't have enough egg for our liking. The flavors were there but I don't have time to keep adjusting things to get it the way we would like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made half the recipe using two medium size apples and left-over butternut squash bread I had made. I’m not too crazy about the raisins, so I put in less than requested. If your bread is fresh, dry it out in the oven so it will absorb the egg mixture or your dish will be too wet. Also, I cut the bread into cubes for easier serving and then added them to the egg mixture to make sure they absorb the egg mixture. It smells wonderful and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I never write reviews; compelled after that amazing meal. Read other reviews before making and noticed suggestion to put apples on top instead. That's what we did and it was absolutely awesome. Next time will try 1/2 apples on bottom, then bread/egg, then rest of apples on top. Maybe add an extra egg if it's not covering enough of apples to soak before baking. We added top with 1/2 & 1/2 to help soak apples a bit more before baking. Served with side of bacon (and beer...) and it was a perfect finish to a long day. Breakfast for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this recipe on Christmas morning last year and it was a hit!! Glad I found it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I do enjoy this recipe. I make is for breakfast, potlucks at work, and for family. I don't normally put in raisins though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a wonderful, easy, delicious recipe. I made it for a women's group potluck brunch and everyone raved about it. I made 1 1/2 of the recipe and put in a larger baking dish. Other than that, I made as written. I wouldn't change anything. The slices of baguette were perfect portions for the potluck. Yes, it was juicy but the juice was from the brown sugar and made an awesome syrup for the french toast. The bread absorbed all the egg/milk mixture and none of the bread was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbferg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Easy to make and delicious. I used regular whole wheat sandwich bread because that's what I had on hand (cubed to make serving easy with 2 kids), and I omitted the raisins. Put this in the oven while it was preheating so I could go back to bed while breakfast cooked. Baked for about 40 minutes covered then another 5-10 uncovered and it was perfect. This is a sweet breakfast - great for an occasional treat for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used 4 eggs instead of 6,chopped figs instead of raisins, & increased the cooking time by 10 minutes (at 5,000 ft). Don't forget to spray the foil with cooking spray before covering your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this with cinnamon raisin bread and took it to my church moms meeting and all the women raved about it! It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
a little too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States