Apple Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I Love this recipe. I did alter it the sugar I used half splenda and half brown sugar, and a cup of strawberry applesauce in place of the apples and oil. And only cooked for 40 minutes. It was absolutely great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this with no changes and it is yummy warm, right out of the oven. Topped with a dab of butter and agave syrup, my toddler gobbled it up! I took it out of the oven just after 50 minutes, any longer would have been dry. Will be great with chai tea for my mid-morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! Thank you for a super great and easy recipe!! I used craisins instead of raisins and added 1 mashed ripe banana too! AWESOME RECIPE!! It is FABULOUS sliced and warm with vanilla ice cream ontop! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
excellent...everyone loved it...I give 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made it as the recipe stated and added a struesel topping made with oatmeal, flour, brown sugar and butter. It was really good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsbont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shipshewana, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
had a corn bread texture- avoid this recipe- do not waste your time or ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This bread is not as sweet as Pumpkin bread, but I think it is not supposed to be. I found with a well pre-heated oven I found it better to cook this 50 minutes, not the 55-60 as recommended. The first batch at 55 was dry, although the taste was great. The second batch at 50 minute turned out great and plenty moist. Of course, go the minimum and check with toothpick. Thanks for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I thought this was good, especially with a little butter on it fresh out of the oven. My substitutions were: 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of grated apple, used 1 full cup of brown sugar, and substituted 1/2 cup of white flour with wheat flour. And it only needed to be cooked for 45 minutes in a metal loaf pan in my gas oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Enjoyed this very much. I baked this in my bread machine using the quick bread setting. It came out great! I omitted the walnuts (since I am allergic) and increased the raisins to 1/2 cup. I also doubled the amount of apples. I used 3 granny smith apples and chopped them up instead of grating them. I put everything in the bread machine in the following order ~ Eggs, milk, and oil on the bottom. I mixed all of the dry ingredients together in a bowl and then added those on top of the liquid. Last I added the apples and raisins. Came out very moist. 12 generous servings = 3 WW points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Salecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I got the same result as the other not-so-excited reviewers - it practically burned on the outside but was still lumpy, undercooked and at the same time dry on the inside. It was barely sweet and didn't have enough flavor (tasted like a bad oatmeal pretty much). Perhaps a better results could be achieved by using bananas, but then it wouldn't be an "apple" bread... I think there are too much of oats and not enough sugar, raisins and nuts. There are better and not less healthy recipes out there and I won't bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States