Apple Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent bread! Moist, flavorful and quick to make. I omitted the nuts, doubled the raisins and added a 1/4 cup wheat germ. Kids (4 and 2 years old) loved it. Great recipe that you can adjust to your taste and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Delicious! Amazing! I've brought this to parties, given it as gifts, and everyone loves it. I made the recipe exactly as is, and it came out very moist and is very hearty with the oatmeal If you like sweet breads, you may want to put in 1 cup sugar instead of 2/3rds cup. My boyfriend and I don't like things too sweet, so the 2/3 cup sugar was fine. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is excellent bread. I've made it several times, and I always double or triple the recipe because it goes so quickly in my house. I love this recipe because it's so variable. And I can sneak in lots of healthy stuff! I've even made made a vegan version of it by subbing mashed bananas and apple sauce for the eggs and soy milk for the milk. It was delicious! I finally settled on a 'half-vegan bread'. I use mashed bananas or applesauce instead of eggs (1/4c applesauce or 1 small banana, mashed = 1 egg), I add 1/4c sour cream, 1/2c shredded carrots, 1/4c sunflower seeds, and 1/4c wheat germ. Sometimes I need to add a little more milk depending on the temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
My daughter thought it was a tad bit dry. I think I will add either sour cream or yogurt to it next time. My husband thought it was not sweet enough. Only he would know because he's diabetic. I think its sweetened just right! :) The loaf pan was emptied before second coffe pot was brewing at the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this for breakfast this morning, I left out the walnuts. A very nice moist bread and not too sweet, but I think I would increase the amount of raisins next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a delicious breakfast bread that is good any time of day! I added a generous 2 t. cinnamon and dash of ginger plus doubled nuts and raisins. Increased soda to 1 t. and used buttermilk. Also to make healthier I used 1/2 flour and 1/2 oat bran. That does make is more crumbly but delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My husband wanted an alternative to me always baking sweet treats. This is a hearty bread full of goodness. I didn't take the time to grate apples but used Motts unsweetened granny smith applesauce instead which was a quick alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
absolutely delicious! the family loved it and it's even good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this to have as a morning snack at the office and really liked the fact it contains oats and apples. It is best served warm and I will make this again and again as a morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Does anyone know if this would work in the bread machine? If so how? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States