Apple Raisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent bread! Moist, flavorful and quick to make. I omitted the nuts, doubled the raisins and added a 1/4 cup wheat germ. Kids (4 and 2 years old) loved it. Great recipe that you can adjust to your taste and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. Will be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Delicious! Amazing! I've brought this to parties, given it as gifts, and everyone loves it. I made the recipe exactly as is, and it came out very moist and is very hearty with the oatmeal If you like sweet breads, you may want to put in 1 cup sugar instead of 2/3rds cup. My boyfriend and I don't like things too sweet, so the 2/3 cup sugar was fine. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is excellent bread. I've made it several times, and I always double or triple the recipe because it goes so quickly in my house. I love this recipe because it's so variable. And I can sneak in lots of healthy stuff! I've even made made a vegan version of it by subbing mashed bananas and apple sauce for the eggs and soy milk for the milk. It was delicious! I finally settled on a 'half-vegan bread'. I use mashed bananas or applesauce instead of eggs (1/4c applesauce or 1 small banana, mashed = 1 egg), I add 1/4c sour cream, 1/2c shredded carrots, 1/4c sunflower seeds, and 1/4c wheat germ. Sometimes I need to add a little more milk depending on the temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
My daughter thought it was a tad bit dry. I think I will add either sour cream or yogurt to it next time. My husband thought it was not sweet enough. Only he would know because he's diabetic. I think its sweetened just right! :) The loaf pan was emptied before second coffe pot was brewing at the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made this for breakfast this morning, I left out the walnuts. A very nice moist bread and not too sweet, but I think I would increase the amount of raisins next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This is a delicious breakfast bread that is good any time of day! I added a generous 2 t. cinnamon and dash of ginger plus doubled nuts and raisins. Increased soda to 1 t. and used buttermilk. Also to make healthier I used 1/2 flour and 1/2 oat bran. That does make is more crumbly but delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My husband wanted an alternative to me always baking sweet treats. This is a hearty bread full of goodness. I didn't take the time to grate apples but used Motts unsweetened granny smith applesauce instead which was a quick alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
absolutely delicious! the family loved it and it's even good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this to have as a morning snack at the office and really liked the fact it contains oats and apples. It is best served warm and I will make this again and again as a morning snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Does anyone know if this would work in the bread machine? If so how? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States