Apple Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Awesome recipe. I initially tried the recipe exactly as written, and thought it was too sweet. I've made it another 3ish times since (..it's that good!), but with some healthier alternatives: whole-wheat flour, replace oil with applesauce and easily halve the sugar. These never last more than a few days in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are great muffins. I am on weight watchers so made some changes to make them healthier and only ONE POINT! I used whole wheat flour, splenda instead of sugar and applesauce instead of oil. They are still moist and delicous. I did have to cut the baking time by about ten minutes this way. My 3 and 2 year old children are enjoying them as we speak! The only problem I had was the first day they stuck to the paper wrappers but today they are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Holy cow! These are great muffins, and I know muffins! My family all loved them. I used all whole wheat flour in place of white, and used applesauce in place of half the oil. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
These come out really moist and tasty. I frequently add raisins and nuts instead of the apples. I also tend to cook muffins for 18-20 minutes at 400 degrees instead of 30-40 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is definitely going to be one of my "staple" recipes! A great way to use your leftover pumpkin, as it only calls for about 1/2 a can. I omitted the topping and made a simple cream cheese frosting, very yummy. This batter made 7 normal sized muffins for me, and I found that the baking time was a bit too long at 25 mins. Next time I'll check them at about 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Great tasting muffins! I used Splenda and some brown sugar in the mix and added a little vanilla. I also used half the amount of oil with a little milk because I didn't have any applesauce on hand. For the topping I used brown sugar and added some oatmeal. These were done in only twenty five minutes on 350 and came out really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I absolutely loved these muffins and so did my kids! A great anytime snack! So easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
As good as everyone says! I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup, used applesauce for half the oil, and baked in a 9 x 13 pan for ease-- no problem! My 2 1/2 year old might have eaten the whole pan if I'd let him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Awesome Recipe! Tastes Great! I added some extras like chocolate chips and raisins. And instead of two cups of apple, i shredded 1 apple and smashed in a banana with the pumpkin mixture. Then right before it went in the oven, I sprinkled it with granola. Great morning treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellisse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a great pumpkin muffin recipe. All of my children gobbled this up which is very rare to find something they all love. I did use whole wheat flour and they still were very moist. It does appear at first that the batter will be too dry but this is not the case at all, continue to mix and they will turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States