Apple Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Thought these were great, i ommitted the oil and added about a half a cup of applesauce, used a half of a cup of honey instead of sugar and added a half of a teaspoon of baking powder. these were moist and rose beautifully. healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I have no doubt that this recipe has the potential to be a very good muffin recipe, but it just didn't work for me this time. The batter was thick - which by itself is not a problem - but it hardly rose at all. The muffins were *way* too dense. We bake almost exclusively with whole wheat flour, so it wasn't the whole wheat texture that was getting to me. Our usual pumpkin muffins are light and fluffy, despite being 100% whole wheat. I have a suspicion that the recipe should call for baking powder rather than baking soda, as there is really nothing acidic in the batter to activate the baking soda. I checked the recipe 3 or 4 times because I just couldn't believe it was calling for baking soda, but I in the end I didn't go with my gut and just followed the recipe as-is. If I make this again, I would definitely substitute baking powder for baking soda. The flavors were very nice, but they can't quite overcome the rest of it. They're not bad enough to throw out, but definitely a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I used only whole wheat flour and changed the sweetener to just 1/2 cup honey. I did not put the topping on. These are great tasting muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I substituted applesauce for the oil and left off the topping, and added vanilla. They were amazing! I had no trouble getting them to rise with just the baking soda that was called for. I will make these again, my one year old said, "mmmmmm".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Loved these muffins,especially since they are whole grain. I ran out of time to make the topping, but they were wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
There wasn't anything special about this recipe for me. The muffins didn't rise at all, the batter was SUPER thick (so much so that I really had to work just to incorporate all the ingredients together) and the flavor wasn't anything spectacular to me. They were edible, just not my favorite pumpkin muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The perfectly moist, yummy, fallish muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I love muffins in general, but am always looking for ways to make healthy ones that are still tasty. These are now top of my list! I used coconut oil instead of vegetable, added baking powder as another reviewer suggested, and also added some vanilla. They were awesome! And my toddler loves them as well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Moist and soft. A little on the bland side. Could use a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States