Apple Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Loved these muffins,especially since they are whole grain. I ran out of time to make the topping, but they were wonderful as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Absolutely delicious. The perfectly moist, yummy, fallish muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Delicious, delicious, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I have no doubt that this recipe has the potential to be a very good muffin recipe, but it just didn't work for me this time. The batter was thick - which by itself is not a problem - but it hardly rose at all. The muffins were *way* too dense. We bake almost exclusively with whole wheat flour, so it wasn't the whole wheat texture that was getting to me. Our usual pumpkin muffins are light and fluffy, despite being 100% whole wheat. I have a suspicion that the recipe should call for baking powder rather than baking soda, as there is really nothing acidic in the batter to activate the baking soda. I checked the recipe 3 or 4 times because I just couldn't believe it was calling for baking soda, but I in the end I didn't go with my gut and just followed the recipe as-is. If I make this again, I would definitely substitute baking powder for baking soda. The flavors were very nice, but they can't quite overcome the rest of it. They're not bad enough to throw out, but definitely a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I substituted applesauce for the oil and left off the topping, and added vanilla. They were amazing! I had no trouble getting them to rise with just the baking soda that was called for. I will make these again, my one year old said, "mmmmmm".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I used only whole wheat flour and changed the sweetener to just 1/2 cup honey. I did not put the topping on. These are great tasting muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giordana
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Just made these & they are so. good. I only had about 4oz of apple in my freezer, cut the sugar by an additional 1/2 cup, and added a ton of extra ginger & nutmeg, just how I like it! The recipe made 18 for me, and they are really soft and not too sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giordana
Living In: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Thought these were great, i ommitted the oil and added about a half a cup of applesauce, used a half of a cup of honey instead of sugar and added a half of a teaspoon of baking powder. these were moist and rose beautifully. healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These were really good and I will certainly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Awesome muffins! I didn't have pumpkin spice, so I substituted it with cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States