Apple Pumpkin Desserts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
The BOMB!! I have been making this recipe since around 1995. This is an absolute favorite in our house. I always make this at Thanksgiving (actually for the past 2 years my son makes them) as it gives us the feeling of both apple and pumpkin pie all in one. I always double the recipe and use ramekin dishes as my kids love to share them with friends. I use the recipe as written. Wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Was really excited to try this for New Year's. I baked them in little canning jars and they looked really cute and it was really easy to do. The clear canning jars showed the different layers. But as for the flavor, they were overly sweet and didn't have a whole lot of flavor. The canned apple pie filling really lacks in flavor and I could only get three slices of apple in the jar. Would be better with a homemade apple pie filling and apple chunks instead of slices. The pumpkin filling could use an increase in spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Amazing! What a twist on pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
One of the best desserts we've ever had. I didn't bother making this in individual servings, I just greased one 8x8 baking pan, spread the apple filling over the bottom, mixed up the pumpkin mixture and poured that over the top, then sprinkled the gingersnap topping over the pumpkin layer. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and added a little more butter to the "topping", just a couple tablespoons. I baked this for about 25 minutes at 350*. I think this could use more of the gingersnap mixture but this was so yummy, we really didn't care. We all loved this. Next time, I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and make this in a pie crust (either graham, gingersnap or oatmeal cookie crust--I think they'd all be good). Very adaptable, wonderfully comforting fall dessert. We absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This dessert was FABULOUS as written. It was very easy and quick to make and my husband and our friends ranted and raved about it. BIG HIT; will DEFINITELY make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
very delicious and easy to make. I made my own apple pie filling which didn't take long- I made it in an 8 x8 pan instead of custard cups. Worked out great- everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Loved it! I added ginger snap crumb crust (saturated with butter) pressed into bottom buttered, large cake tin. I also added ground cloves to the spices. Turned up the heat to 400 about 5 minutes before I thought it might be done. Continued baking until toothpick came out clean. Served cold with lightly sweetened whipped cream. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I just made this recipe last night for a dinner party. Everyone loved it and I just got a request for the recipe. I made it according to directions, but the baking time was off--I had to bake it about 15 min. longer than the directions to get the pumpkin to set, but my ingredients were all cold too. Put a dollop of cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My sister made this dessert and sadly, no one liked it. Apples and pumpkin just don't taste good together. Pumpkin pie or apple pie is much better than this tart combination. It tasted like a dish from the 1800s before they knew how to make desserts taste sweet and good. I wouldn't recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was so delicious! It's great because it's so easy to make--I don't really like to cook--the pumpkin with apple was a pleasant and tasty combination which nicely surprised everyone. Even the light eaters finished all of theirs. This recipe is definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States