Apple Puff Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I added walnuts but I wouldn't do this again- their taste was nice with this dish but their texture was too heavy for this light airy concoction
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m.bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was okay - I really liked the flavor of the apples but didn't like the eggy/mushy pancake part all that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
used blueberries instead - added them after baking for 10 min...was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
for higher elavation,I found adding a little more flour. I aslo crushed cinamon candy up and sprinkle it over the top of the apples and using a little for garnishing. sprinkled lighly with powder sugar. yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
The texture of this Apple Puff reminded me quite a bit of the pancakes my German grandmother made. I'm giving the recipe a 5 even though I made a few changes because I liked it a lot and it's much easier than making individual pancakes. I sauteed the apples briefly in a skillet before layering them in the baking dish. I added cinnamon to the egg batter and sprinkled the top of the puff with white sugar and cinnamon after I spooned the individual serving on the plate. I scaled the recipe to 3 servings (2 eggs) and ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess D.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is the perfect breakfast for Saturday mornings. The body of it was like a custard while the apples gave it a great balance of sweetness. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was good. Will be making again. It is def. more of a baked custard than a pancake. There is a discrepency in cooking time. The top of the page (under the prep part) says 30 min while the recipe says 20. Go with the 30 min. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 is that I had to add extra cinnamon. It seemed a little bland as is. Still we all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I've been making this for years and my family loves it. I looked it up at Allrecipes today to find out how to scale it upward. I modify this way -- I slice the apples and toss them with 1/4 tsp allspice and the cinnamon. Then heat the butter in the oven to melt, then add the apple slices and heat apples until they sizzle. Then I add the batter and and top with brown sugar and bake at 425 for 20 mins. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I made this for my husband and our friend for breakfast and it was delicious. I added nutmeg and used brown sugar rather than white in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is my grandma's exact recipe that we used to make on Christmas morning. It is a comfort food to me that I whip up for a quick breakfast for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States