Apple Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a low-carb version! I used half the apples, tossed them with 1/2c Splenda and cinnamon to taste, then microwaved a few minutes to soften the apples. I mixed 1c Cream with 1/8-1/4c of vanilla whey protein powder, mixed into the apple mixture, and baked until the top was slightly brown. This is more of a custard than a pudding, but it's delicious and satisfies my craving for sweets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This recipe was extremely simple to prepare and easy to cook. Not only was it a breeze to make, but the best thing was that it was a delight to eat. I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Me and my family loved this recipe. I added cinnamon and it turned out great. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I had a great experience with this recipe! Followed ingredients exactly using white whole wheat flour and Rhode Island Greening apples (a good baking apple that is tart and keeps its shape w/o cooking down too much) and whole milk. It looked a little liquidy after the 45 minutes so we put it back in for 15 more and it set perfectly. I wasn't sure what kind of flavor it would have w/o any spices and was amazed at how much creamy, appley flavor it has. Definitely a keeper here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bnpayne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I followed the directions but added a little bit of cinnamon to it and after baking it for 45 minutes at 325 was a little too runny so I increased the oven to 400 and baked it for an additioinal 10 minutes and it turned out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Good simple recipe. It cooks up as apple slices in a creamy sauce that takes on a nice apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The recipe as written is a little unbalanced in the ingredients. I would suggest using 1/2 cup or even more flour. Mix the dry ingredients without the apples together in a bowl; gradually add the milk while mixing to get a smooth texture, and then add in the apples. That way you won't get the "milk curdling" affect (it's not that the milk is curdling; it's that the flour is not mixed smoothly). You can also add cinnamon and chopped pecans (or walnuts) for enhancement. And you can furthermore top with caramel. With these changes to the recipe, it comes out really nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this recipe based on the recent review suggesting the use of more flour. I think that was likely a good suggestion and this came out pretty good. I've never had apple pudding but I think I'll be making more of this, maybe with some tweaks to the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
The taste of this was good. It did not resemble pudding just cooked apples with a separated sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I made this recipe exactly as instructed. First of all, I had to continue cooking it for an hour. When I served it, the liquid separated from the pudding and made it look undesirable. I encouraged my husband to try it anyway -- he liked the flavor, but not the runny consistency. Later in the afternoon, I added another 1/4 cup of flour to the recipe and cooked it at 350 for about 30 minutes and it was exactly like I think it should have looked in the first place. My suggestion is to increase the flour from 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup and cook the recipe for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees. It had a great flavor, but if you're looking for anything like apple, Moms, you out of luck on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States