Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Love apples paired with pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I can't wait to make this again. Only reason it's not 5 stars is because the meat wasn't really tender. But maybe that's my fault... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Was excellent! will add more onions and apples next time (just personal taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I had pretty good results with this recipe. I don't cook a lot and this was really easy for me! I followed a couple other reviews and used 100% apple juice instead of water and I only used a 1/2 cup. I added a layer of applesauce and cinnamon to the bottom of the dish as well as to the mixture to thicken it up a bit. I also added some sharp cheese on top of the pork chops in the last 10 min of baking. My husband thought it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very tasty and simple to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
not for me, sauce way too runny and not flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
So, so, so good. I stay close to the original recipe, except that I, like many other reviewers, use apple juice instead of water. I also add a tablespoon of maple syrup and a cup of cinnamon apple sauce to the mixture and add a layer of apple sauce to the bottom of the dish. I saute the onion and apples in butter with a dash of cinnamon and then brown the chops in the leftovers. I sprinkle salt and apple cider vinegar on top of them in the pan, and then I just sit them in the pan, spoon out the thickest part of the mix on to the chops, pour the rest in, and sit the onions and apples on top and let it cook for 45 minutes. I usually don't have a problem with the apples searing or charring in the oven. They come out neither too mushy nor too crisp; my husband raved about this meal and he can't stand mushy food. I was worried that it would be too sweet for dinner, or that it would be time consuming, but tis neither. It's become one of our favorite meals. Festive, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent! I followed the advice of some other commentators and cooked the apple with the onion. Used water, a little less than the recipe called for, and wholegrain mustard instead of ground. And added cinnamon to the spice mix. Tasty pork chops, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This just didn't work. I only baked this for 30 minutes and the pork was overcooked and the apples were undercooked. It was way too much liquid, and not nearly enough flavor. I do like the idea of combining these ingredients, but it needs a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This recipe was easy and tasty - something that wows guests without a lot of bother. I used slightly thicker pork chops and needed additional salt and pepper. I also made the sauce with chicken stock instead of water to give is a bit more taste. The dish needs a touch more "bite" so I would suggest additional mustard or a little horse radish. I used Gala apples which seemed to hold together and still were juicy. Some have noted that there is a lot of liquid left in the pan. I treated that as a gravy and reduced it with a little corn starch. The resulting sauce made a great topping as well as a nice compliment to the wild rice side which I served with this nice fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States