Apple Pork Chops and Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
The flavours of this recipe are awesome. I couldn't use stovetop or canned apples because I don't like them so I made the recipe this way: The pork chops should be thicker - season with Salt and pepper & ground thyme. Heat up a frying pan, melt some butter and brown both sides of the meat. Be sure to season both sides. I froze the meat after this. For the apples - it was one medium apple per pork chop. I peeled, sliced and fried in some butter with half an onion and some garlic. I seasoned with salt, pepper, thyme, cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. Once they slightly browned I added a generous sprinkle of brown sugar and then put them in the baking dish. I made my own stuffing which was a slice of stale bread for each chop with some minced onion, celery, chicken stock, salt, pepper, garlic and a generous amount of sage. I added enough stock for the bread to form a ball and then put it on top of the frozen meat. I baked it uncovered at 350 for about an hour. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made this for dinner and the hubby and kids didn't like them to much, but mainly because they didn't like the sweetness of the apples. I'm the type to eat pork chops with applesauce right on the chop, not my guys. I thought they were excellent though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I didn't have pie filling so I cut up an apple and added sugar, butter, and cinnamon and then added apple butter to it til it had a nice pie filling consistency. I seasoned my pork with minced garlic, salt, pepper and season all before browning it. I loved it! It was so tender and juicy! My husband liked it ok but he's not a fan of fruit with meat. I reheated it the next day and it was just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Other than substituting my canned apples, I followed the recipe to the T, and the pork drops were very dry. I think if I had used much thicker pork chops, it would have turned out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meegan Iverson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Absolutely LOVE this! My husband said he could eat it every night. Shared recipe with entire family and they love it too. This is very easy to make and I didn't stray from the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I have been making this for years and it is a go to recipe for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoAnnaC
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Excellent recipe with one change: use fresh apples and follow the suggestions provided by Mrs. K. (Add onion, garlic, thyme, rosemary and a touch of cinnamon to the apples to make them more savory than sweet.) I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this recipe last night for myself and the kids. It was quick and easy to throw together after work. We all really enjoyed it! Had left overs for lunch today and it was just as good warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni J Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Instead of using the canned apple pie filling, I sliced 2 peeled granny smith apples and 1 onion, sauteed them after browning the pork chops. I also added 1 mince clove of garlic, fresh rosemary, thyme and just a hint of cinnamon. I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I used Savory Herb Stovetop Stuffing and it was excellent! The fresh apples with the onion made it very flavorful without it being too sweet. My husband loved it. By using fresh ingredients instead of the canned apple pie filling, it was a very elegant dish. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Family loved this recipe. My little ones loved the stuffing and apples. Works great for thick pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States