Apple Pork Chop Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This was a really great recipe to work from. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used half apple juice and half chicken broth. I also seasoned the pork chops with seasoned salt and black pepper before cooking them. I only used about one a half apples because I thought it looked like a lot, plus I couldn't stop eating the apples while I was cutting them! I am a single mom, and I need fast, easy recipes. This one is gdefinitely going in my archives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My husband and I really loved this dish. The only thing is there was a little too much liquid, as the stuffing was on the mushy side. I did spice up the dish a little by putting a dry Jerk rub mixed with olive oil and applesauce on the pork before searing. I then sprinkled a slight amount of the Jerk rub in the stugging. The clove taste of the Jerk rub went very well with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
great, easy, and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I really enjoy this recipe. My husband is a fan also, well, sort of. He says that it is a bit too sweet for him and he is not a fan of all the apples but the stuffing he likes as well as the chop. I enjoy it and my dinner guests enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Good recipe. I used thinner chops. It was a little spongy and tart for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Oh my goodness! Those pork chops were sooo good and tender. I think it came out that way because #1 I didn't use the thick chops and #2 I seasoned the chops before putting them in the skillet (I always do that whether or not the recipe calls for it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This was a horrible recipe. The pork chops were incredibly dry (despite merely searing the pork to avoid overcooking), the stuffing spongy and the apple juice overly sweet. This was an embarrassment to serve, especially when pork chops are normally my "specialty." I had doubts when I read the recipe and the results confirmed them. If I made this again, I'd sear the chops, add the apples, liquid and flavoring (while making the liquid half wine and half apple juice), bring it to a boil, then let it simmer for 20 minutes or so. THEN, once the chops were cooked, I'd remove them, and cook the stuffing mix in the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOT1APRON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly but both my husband and I found the pork chops too bland. I think it would be pretty good if the pork chops were marinated or seasoned before browning them. My husband did enjoy the apples with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This is a good, easy recipe, but calls for way too much liquid. I would reduce the amount of apple juice to 3/4 c. or 1 c. The stuffing was way too mushy with 1-1/2c. of juice. The pork chops were also a bit bland. Next time I will try sprinkling them with thyme or rosemary before I fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was not bad for a one skillet meal. My 21 month old daughter and I liked it. I made a few changes. I seasoned the chops well with seasoned salt and pepper before browning. I also used 3/4 cup apple juice and 3/4 cup chicken broth. I thought it had a nice apple taste that was not over powering. I used red delicious apples since that was what I had. This recipe serves its purpose...I had dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes and I didn't have to go to the store. For that reason alone I will keep it in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States