Apple Pizza Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This is an amazing recipe. The cheese doesn't melt completly, but i don't think it should. Pictures or more detail about how it should look are not needed, just be creative. The dessert was delicious, can't beat it. No complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I took it to a BBQ that had TONS of food and after everybody ate their main meal they still finished this off...nothing left but crumbs! Lots of compliments. And I like how versital it is, you can substitute other pie filling flavors for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Cheese shreds didn't melt and less flour in topping would have improved. I'd like to try with cherry pie filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great Recipe!!! Everyone loved this and I only had to make a few minor adjustments to the instructions. I actually doubled the recipe for the crust since the first batch wasn't enough to cover the 12" pizza pan.I baked the crust for an additional 5 minutes since it was a bit thicker than intended and I also only used 1/2 cup of flour for the cheese/sugar/cinnamon mixture. Overall a VERY good recipe - very tasty and I was amazed that the cheese didn't melt also. It kind of became crunchy instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a hit every time I have made it. One thing that I have done to add to the richness of the topping is add small dots of butter. This melts into the topping and gives it a delicious flavor. The crust does come up a bit short so I have doubled the recipe to give it a bit more thickness. This is a really easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I give this recipe a 5 star it is easy to make and yummy too. Instead of canned pie filling, I make my own apple pie filling and for the crust as advised by others, I double it up and I get 2 8' pie. For the topping it was really amazing. My 5 yrs old boy really love this and so are the rest and I can't stop thinking of doing again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
the cheese doesnt melt and the taste of the plain flour with brown sugar is horribly disgusting.. the crust is too thin and it breaks up very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My husband has always like cheddar cheese with his apple pie, so thought he would like this (he DID). I don't care for canned fillings, so made my own, using 5 med. sized Granny Smith apples. I got distracted, while making the crust, and put the butter, sugar and flour in the bowl together. Rather than dump it out and start over, I mixed it that way and ended up having to add a couple tablespoons water to get the dough to hold together. Was worried it would be tough, but turned out tender and good. I'll try it the right way next time and see what the difference is. Also, next time, I will only use a 1/4 cup or so of the flour in the cheese and brown sugar mixture -- 3/4 cup was way too much. I'm sure the cheese is not SUPPOSED to melt. A good, DIFFERENT recipe -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
I as well had problems with the dough not being enough for a 12" pizza pan. I made another batch of the dough. I also would have liked to see what it should look like. I used Kraft shredded cheddar cheese and it didn't melt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Really good! I actually used frozen pizza dough with it (hand it on hand) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States