Apple Pizza Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I had to add some water to crust because it was too crumbly. I used homemade pie filling. I used less flour like other people. I used shredded cheddar/mozza. I only cooked for 20 mins., but it was overcooked. Next time I will decrease oven temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Really good! I actually used frozen pizza dough with it (hand it on hand) and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was a hit every time I have made it. One thing that I have done to add to the richness of the topping is add small dots of butter. This melts into the topping and gives it a delicious flavor. The crust does come up a bit short so I have doubled the recipe to give it a bit more thickness. This is a really easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made my own apple pie filling from an allrecipes recipe. My prayer group and the husbands loved it and wanted the recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I give this recipe a 5 star it is easy to make and yummy too. Instead of canned pie filling, I make my own apple pie filling and for the crust as advised by others, I double it up and I get 2 8' pie. For the topping it was really amazing. My 5 yrs old boy really love this and so are the rest and I can't stop thinking of doing again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I just made a similar pizza today with the exact same crust so I have some advice for the people saying to double the crust - it's not necessary!! Don't sift the flour for starters -you get too much air in it. Mix the ingredients thoroughly - it can be done with a spatula - but not to form a ball. It will be crumbly, and that's okay. Lightly spread the crumbs on your pan, then pack it down with your hand, shaping the edge as you go. If it is a little sticky, cover it with plastic wrap, then smooth it with your hand - less messy. (the 5 star rating is for the crust only - I haven't made the pizza this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Forewarned by others, I doubled the crust recipe. Came out great. I've made it 3 times now and both my husband and I love it. Thanks for a great easy to make treat or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Great Recipe!!! Everyone loved this and I only had to make a few minor adjustments to the instructions. I actually doubled the recipe for the crust since the first batch wasn't enough to cover the 12" pizza pan.I baked the crust for an additional 5 minutes since it was a bit thicker than intended and I also only used 1/2 cup of flour for the cheese/sugar/cinnamon mixture. Overall a VERY good recipe - very tasty and I was amazed that the cheese didn't melt also. It kind of became crunchy instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My husband has always like cheddar cheese with his apple pie, so thought he would like this (he DID). I don't care for canned fillings, so made my own, using 5 med. sized Granny Smith apples. I got distracted, while making the crust, and put the butter, sugar and flour in the bowl together. Rather than dump it out and start over, I mixed it that way and ended up having to add a couple tablespoons water to get the dough to hold together. Was worried it would be tough, but turned out tender and good. I'll try it the right way next time and see what the difference is. Also, next time, I will only use a 1/4 cup or so of the flour in the cheese and brown sugar mixture -- 3/4 cup was way too much. I'm sure the cheese is not SUPPOSED to melt. A good, DIFFERENT recipe -- thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I work in the public and have tried this recipe with a couple of buffets and it has gone over like gang-busters!! They love it!! Thankyou for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Vulcan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States