Apple Pike Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I changed up the recipe a bit. Put half sugar and half brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp salt, 3 lg apples, two tsp softened butter, and made crumbs with flour, sugar and butter for the top. I know it sort of defeated the four ingredients easy cake, but ultimately it came out great and was still an easy recipe. Loved it and will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I gave this 3 stars- only because it is a good base recipe. It definitely could use a little tweaking. First I melted butter in my pie dish. Then I cut down the white sugar to 1/2c and added about 1/4 a cup of brown sugar to the melted butter already in my pan. I know the recipe recommends 5 apples- but I would suggest 5 small- medium apples. I used 5 medium to large apples, and it was just way too much. I also added some vanilla extract, cinnamon and just a few drops of almond extract. I set my oven to 400*- and checked it after the recommended 15 minutes. It was no where near done, but my apples on top were beginning to burn- so I turned it down to 350* and let it go for another 10 minutes. By this time- the outside edges were pretty well done, but the inside was still very dippy. I let it go another ten minutes- and this time- the center was more of a bread pudding consistency. (This may have been due to my over abundance of apples I had added.) Over-all it is not a bad recipe, but a little bland on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnyderFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is very easy and tastes delicious. But, you definitely need to listen to other reviews or add your own twist. I used 6 Empire Apples that we picked at an orchard a week ago, very good and juicy. I think the apples make a difference. I used a 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon and the extra apple but that is all I used that was extra for the ingredients. I cooked it for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. About half way through I sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and sugar over the top. Top with some whip cream and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was really good, but the recipe needs tweaking. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg, and baked it for a half hour. It's more of a pudding than a cake or pie. It has a texture like bread pudding. It's quite nice for breakfast with heavy cream. Definitely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I tried this recipe because it looked very simple and easy. However I put my own twist to it by adding cinnamon and nutmeg. This made the cake very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Easy, quick and delicious. Thank you for sharing. This recipe does take at least 30 min to bake. I used brown sugar instead of the white sugar, added vanilla and cinnamon. I also swapped out some of the ap flour for wheat and oats. Love the fact that is has no fat and doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I am going to use fat free egg beaters in place of the 3 whole eggs and that will make this a completely fat free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyConnie1981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I peeled my apples and chopped them rather small to try and reduce the baking time. I added cinnamon and placed butter over the top once they were done baking. I also sprinkled powdered sugar on them before serving. My baking time at the recommended 400* was 20 minuets at which time I had to drop the temp to 350* and baked for another 12. At that time I gave up and turned off the oven and walked away for 30 minuets hoping the residual heat would finish the job. I am lucky that it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This recipe was delicious, although I will admit I did change the recipe a little bit. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat flour, granny smith apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, 1 tsp baking powder and 1/8 cup milk and I baked it for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
So i tried this on a whim (having one of those nights where i was craving something sweet). It took wuite a while longer to cook, around 30 minutes, and the center was still very gooey and batter-like, while the edges were getting dark brown. It came out quite dense and kind of bland. I didn't think to read the reviews before hand, so i could have changed it. I probably would not make this again, without some major changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States