Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been making this pie for years as it is my husband's favorite. It is a good starter recipe, but it should be noted that with only 3/4 cups sugar to 7 cups of a tart apple like Granny Smith it is going to lean towards a more tart pie with a hint of sweet. The lemon rind is a nice touch, but doesn't really add anything, so if you don't have it no big deal. You do need the lemon juice to react with the flour to thicken the juices. Also, I accidently left out the butter the last time I made it. Funnily enough I couldn't tell the difference there either so in the future I will save the calories and live without it. When I am in a bit of a rush I just squeeze the lemon over the apples in a large bowl; add the flour, sugar and spices and mix by hand, making sure to coat every piece. I find this is quicker and assures full coverage. As with any pie recipe, if the crust starts to brown before it is done cooking just use a pie ring or tinfoil to cover it. The temperature is perfect for cooking the apples and with a bit of tinfoil your crust will be just fine. I would never turn the temp down for fear of undercooked apples. It is a good idea to put the pie on a cookie sheet just in case the filling bubbles over. It makes a gooey mess in the bottom of your oven otherwise. [Ask me how I know. heehee] This is a tried and true, very basic, very tart apple pie recipe. Add a bit more sugar [1/4 cup more] if you have a sweeter tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkippyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! And easy. I think this will be my standard apple pie recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABAADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was going to make this in a standard 9" glass pie dish, but my daughter pulled out the 3" deep monster pie pan. Knowing the apples would shrink & leave the crust high & dry, I precooked the filling just a little on low heat in a large, covered pot. The apple slices didn't really cook at all, just got steamed a little, but it preshrank the filling so the crust sat nicely on it. It also cut 10 minutes or more from the baking time and ensured the filling was baked throughout. I brushed the top with melted butter & sprinkled it with a sugar-cinnamon mix before baking. It earned rave reviews from people already stuffed with Thanksgiving dinner. I'm keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
40 minutes on 425 and this pie comes out amazing! Will definitely make again. One thing the recipe could use is a suggestion on how to keep the crust as evenly browned as the rest of the pie as it appeared to be burning just as the rest of the pie was completed cooking. Otherwise, a perfect 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am keeping this recipe in my recipe box, and will use it again MINUS the lemon zest and lemon juice. I love lemon in everything, but this was way too overpowering, and I felt like I was eating a lemon square apple pie. Withthe lemon zest and juice the taste is not of a traditional apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The taste of the apples was delicious. But I lowered the oven to 350 after 20 minutes and the crust still got overcooked. It was my first attempt at baking an apple pie and I was a tad disppointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very delicious! I turned the oven down to 350 after the first 25 minutes and it baked up real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is the best, BY FAR, apple pie I have ever had. The taste was diverse and sensual! The lemon zest adds that "little something" that set the taste apart from anything I've ever had at a relatives house or restaurant. I made this with golden delicious apples, did not use the optional milk and glazed the top of the crust with butter prior to baking. Also, I only used 3.5 cups of apples and it was plenty. Anymore and it would have been overfilled. I can't imagine anyone ever saying this is not the most incredible tasting apple pie they have ever had. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and sugar on the top crust before baking. What a great fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The lemon zest in this pie is what really makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Watson McKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States