Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was going to make this in a standard 9" glass pie dish, but my daughter pulled out the 3" deep monster pie pan. Knowing the apples would shrink & leave the crust high & dry, I precooked the filling just a little on low heat in a large, covered pot. The apple slices didn't really cook at all, just got steamed a little, but it preshrank the filling so the crust sat nicely on it. It also cut 10 minutes or more from the baking time and ensured the filling was baked throughout. I brushed the top with melted butter & sprinkled it with a sugar-cinnamon mix before baking. It earned rave reviews from people already stuffed with Thanksgiving dinner. I'm keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
40 minutes on 425 and this pie comes out amazing! Will definitely make again. One thing the recipe could use is a suggestion on how to keep the crust as evenly browned as the rest of the pie as it appeared to be burning just as the rest of the pie was completed cooking. Otherwise, a perfect 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I am keeping this recipe in my recipe box, and will use it again MINUS the lemon zest and lemon juice. I love lemon in everything, but this was way too overpowering, and I felt like I was eating a lemon square apple pie. Withthe lemon zest and juice the taste is not of a traditional apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The taste of the apples was delicious. But I lowered the oven to 350 after 20 minutes and the crust still got overcooked. It was my first attempt at baking an apple pie and I was a tad disppointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very delicious! I turned the oven down to 350 after the first 25 minutes and it baked up real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is the best, BY FAR, apple pie I have ever had. The taste was diverse and sensual! The lemon zest adds that "little something" that set the taste apart from anything I've ever had at a relatives house or restaurant. I made this with golden delicious apples, did not use the optional milk and glazed the top of the crust with butter prior to baking. Also, I only used 3.5 cups of apples and it was plenty. Anymore and it would have been overfilled. I can't imagine anyone ever saying this is not the most incredible tasting apple pie they have ever had. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and sugar on the top crust before baking. What a great fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The lemon zest in this pie is what really makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've made this pie several times for my family. It has become a tradition after a trip to the apple orchard in mid-September. It is very tasty and the lemon gives it a "light" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My husband was so happy w/this recipe. I made it w/apples off of our tree and didn't change a thing. He has raved about it to his family and friends. It looked so beautiful w/the eggwash/sugar over the top that I didn't want him to cut into it. I even thought of posting a pic of FB because I was so proud of myself. I didn't have a chance because as soon as it cooled it was half gone. Awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States