Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This great recipe gives you a lightly sweet pie where you can actually taste the apples! The lemon adds a nice little zing. I made a very few minor modifications: substituted 1/4 of the white sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar for a bit for depth of flavor. I brushed the top crust with half & half and then sprinkled with coarse sugar. Baked at 425 for only 20 minutes. Then at 350 for approximately 35-40 mins. One last thing- You don't need to do the layering step of the sugar & spices and apples. Just toss all these ingredients in a bowl to coat and dump into your shell. Pies are very forgiving that way! Oh, I think my pie pan is 10", so 7 apples was fine, any smaller pan and you certainly would run into trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this with my granddaughter and the dog ate most of it! He loved it. We made another pie and he got it too! So... not to be outdone we made another and yes he found that one too! This time it is going into the refrigerator to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this last night. I used Fuji and Gala apples and no lemon zest, I didn't have a fresh lemon. It turned out lovely though. My sister says it's the most natural tasting apple pie she's ever had. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this apple pie more than once and it has always been a hit! So easy, delicious and not to mention beautiful to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
best by far the only thing i did differently is i used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Wilson
Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Ipswich, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
i made this for my boyfriend and he loved it.. great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My first attempt at apple pie and wow!! A few minor changes to the recipe: I used Cortland apples, used 1 cup sugar (half was brown sugar) and added more cinnamon. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was an excellent pie, 5 stars with a little adjustment. This pie tastes like apples, not super sweet and spicy. I loved that about it. That being said, I will probably slightly increase the spices, and if using really tart apples like I did this time, I'd increase the sugar a bit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I love this pie because it's simple yet classic. I mixed all the dry ingredients extra and put it in a plastic baggie. Apple pie mix! I keep that, frozen pie dough (Mom's Pie Crust) and frozen sliced apples on hand. Pie couldn't be easier! I do have a problem with the filling bubbling over my lattice but that might just be baker's error. Just remember to use foil on your edges or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
It was easy to make and everybody loved it! It seems like there are too many apples to fit the pie, but they cook down during the baking process. The lemon really makes this recipe worthwhile! I'll definitely be baking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States