Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My family couldn't get enough of this! By Friday morning, all but one piece was left, and we almost began fighting over it. The lemon added a great layer to the pie - everyone noticed it and loved it. It took way more than three layers to use the seven cups it listed in the recipe, but we like mile-high apple pies anyways, so it wasn't a problem. Awesome recipe all in all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Baked it at 350 degrees and didn't use lemon in it at all. It turned out wonderful. Best apple pie ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Long Messner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
My daughter and I made this last Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. We're making it again this year, and she's very excited about it (she's 10 and loves to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Excellent apple pie. Easy. I mix spices in bowl, then mix in apples, then place in crust. That way the spices are evenly distributed. Used Rome apples and Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust from this site. My only pie crust from now on, flaky and delicious ( I freeze half of recipe, as it makes enough for 2 - 2 crust pies). Already planning next apple pie. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cybil
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I added dried cranberries and used assorted apples from a fruit basket. I also used egg wash instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dasegalla
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Always looking for a Quick & Easy Recipe and this is it! Full of Flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasegalla

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe and easy to make. I lowered temperature to 350 after 25 minutes and used aluminum foil to protect crust around rim. Turned out perfect and tastes great. I did not have lemon zest; just used lemon juice. I added 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper for an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This great recipe gives you a lightly sweet pie where you can actually taste the apples! The lemon adds a nice little zing. I made a very few minor modifications: substituted 1/4 of the white sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar for a bit for depth of flavor. I brushed the top crust with half & half and then sprinkled with coarse sugar. Baked at 425 for only 20 minutes. Then at 350 for approximately 35-40 mins. One last thing- You don't need to do the layering step of the sugar & spices and apples. Just toss all these ingredients in a bowl to coat and dump into your shell. Pies are very forgiving that way! Oh, I think my pie pan is 10", so 7 apples was fine, any smaller pan and you certainly would run into trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this with my granddaughter and the dog ate most of it! He loved it. We made another pie and he got it too! So... not to be outdone we made another and yes he found that one too! This time it is going into the refrigerator to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalbee
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this last night. I used Fuji and Gala apples and no lemon zest, I didn't have a fresh lemon. It turned out lovely though. My sister says it's the most natural tasting apple pie she's ever had. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States