Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
Lisa, Such a volume of apples 'way overfilled the 9-inch plate. Then , the crust started to get real dark after 35 minutes, but the insides had barely begun to cook! ( I took the heat down to 350 at that point). Suggestions for a little "twist " on your classic recipe: for the white sugar, I tried half white and half brown. I also added a smidgen of fresh ground ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
The lemon really makes this pie exceptional! Drop the temperature to 350 F after 25 minutes, and use a baking ring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I had made other apple pie recipes,but this one was the best tasting and very easy to make.Because I didn't have a fresh lemon rind to zest.I just didn't put it in the suggested recipe.However,I did add the suggested amount of lemon juice,as I did have that on hand.My husband,as well as, my 18 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I am relatively new to pie baking and this makes a lovely apple pie. I used a pie ring towards the end of baking to keep the rim from over browning. Would definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
It was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheryl
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was my first pie and it turned out perfect. Great recipe. I did use 6 cups of apple instead of 7 and I followed someone's suggestion of lowering temp after 25 minutes. People were fighting over the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it. Even the kids. I made it again with the same great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
loved the "new" flavor of lemon zest. Used brown sugar instead of white and only 1/3 cup.... Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was so good. Wow. The apples baked nicley. The cinnoman gave it a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was like the greatest apple pie i've ever done...!! Your recipe was so nice and easy to follow. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red-Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States