Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The taste of the apples was delicious. But I lowered the oven to 350 after 20 minutes and the crust still got overcooked. It was my first attempt at baking an apple pie and I was a tad disppointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very delicious! I turned the oven down to 350 after the first 25 minutes and it baked up real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is the best, BY FAR, apple pie I have ever had. The taste was diverse and sensual! The lemon zest adds that "little something" that set the taste apart from anything I've ever had at a relatives house or restaurant. I made this with golden delicious apples, did not use the optional milk and glazed the top of the crust with butter prior to baking. Also, I only used 3.5 cups of apples and it was plenty. Anymore and it would have been overfilled. I can't imagine anyone ever saying this is not the most incredible tasting apple pie they have ever had. A must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon and sugar on the top crust before baking. What a great fall treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
The lemon zest in this pie is what really makes it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've made this pie several times for my family. It has become a tradition after a trip to the apple orchard in mid-September. It is very tasty and the lemon gives it a "light" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My husband was so happy w/this recipe. I made it w/apples off of our tree and didn't change a thing. He has raved about it to his family and friends. It looked so beautiful w/the eggwash/sugar over the top that I didn't want him to cut into it. I even thought of posting a pic of FB because I was so proud of myself. I didn't have a chance because as soon as it cooled it was half gone. Awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjf861

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
i just made this, but the first ones crust was super-dark, so i remade it and used a crust recipe for a different type of pie, and added some fresh ginger and a little bit more cinnamon. it turned out beautifully. tastes delicious, and is this perfect golden brown color. 4 stars only because of the crust in the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I also turned down the oven temp as suggested by others as it was browning too fast. The lemon zest gives this a nice flavor. My apples were not as tart as Granny Smith so the zest helped bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States