Apple Pie in a Jar Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Like pie, it's sweet. Not a strong cider flavor (to me, that's good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for Christmas as gifts for a few people and I got rave reviews. They liked it so much they gave me back the empty bottles so I can make more!! It was fantastic, it tasted exactly like apple pie, this is the kind of drink that can sneak up on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I used this recipe as my base and then I added a little ground clove, brown sugar, and vanilla to my drink mixture. Just kept adding until taste. Makes it taste more like real apple pie. Cannot wait till Christmas to share this drink, sure beats the normal cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe is Awesome. Didn't take long to drink. Makes a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this Recipe last year and just finished it last night ......... this is my Favorite Drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Alcohol evaporates at 173 degrees so before you add your alcohol or when reheating for later consumption, keep it below 173. This recipe needs a clove, some vanilla, and a LOT more liquor in it. A liter of grain alcohol is 3.74 gallons at 90% alcohol. For ease of math, let's call it 1/4th a gallon at 100%. Two gallons of apple liquid is 8/4th, so 9 parts toal with 1 part alcohol is 11% or 22 proof. This recipe needs to double the grain alcohol to get it to 20% or 40 proof, (add a stick of cinnamon to each jar and let it set for a few weeks to simmer the taste), or add a bottle of bottle of 100 proof Vanilla Vodka to get it to 30 proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I like too put half white sugar and half brown sugar, and I add caramel extract and butter extract!! Really makes it taste like apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
wow taste just like apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
The longer it sets the better the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I Love this recipe! This is our favorite 'go-to' drink, we make it all the time. I let the juice simmer for an hour or so, then I'll throw a hand full of red hot candies in the cider while it's simmering for a little extra cinnamon flavor. I like to use 1/2 c white sugar and 3/4 c brown sugar.. I think it makes it taste more like apple pie. If you're using moonshine instead of everclear, I'd add and extra 1/4 c of sugar and make sure you give it time to mellow. The most important thing to know about this recipe is that it needs to Mellow. As hard as it is sometimes.. bottle it up and put it away. Open up a jar in three months and THEN decide what you think of this recipe. OMG, amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommacoz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Apple Pie 'Ala Mode' Moonshine

Make your own ’shine! It tastes remarkably like apple pie.

Strawberry Shortcake Drink

Frozen strawberries, amaretto, ice cream and vodka blended into a cocktail.

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States