Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This pie recipe is so easy and absolutely delicious. I made this for my family and my mom enjoyed it so much that she started eating my dad's piece before he could take a bite. My parents are both 80 years young and prior to making this pie I have never seen my mom so excited about apple pie before! I have shared this recipe with all my friends and they're all raving as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Ok so let say this is the best. I followed the recipe asit say and it is delish. I am not a pie lover at all , but cannot seem to put this done once i took a bite. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marine City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I've done a lot of experimenting in the last year, searching for a reliable and delicious apple pie recipe and THIS IS IT!! The first time I followed the instructions exactly...didn't get to taste it myself because it was used for barter trade but it looked fabulous! I soon found an excuse to make it again. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tsp lemon juice to the sauce and modified the assembly a bit. Instead of pouring all the sauce through gaps in the lattice top, I put about 95 percent of the sliced apples into the bottom crust, poured *most* of the sauce over the apples, covered that with a single layer of plain sliced apples which meant the top of the filling wasn't goopy, assembled the lattice and kept enough dough to make a raised crimped edge -- that helped contain the sauce that bubbled up all around. Then I drizzled more sauce on top and baked the pie on a pizza stone which ensured that the bottom crust would be cooked through. It came out looking glorious but my photo didn't match the requirements of this website. Too bad because it's fantastic. When I shared the pie with my women's group it was a big hit. This is now my *go to* recipe for apple pie. Thank you, Grandma Ople!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This pie came out pretty good. I made two, doubling all the ingredients and my wife took one to work. She said everybody loved it and fought over the last piece. I only added a little cinnamon. The other thing I did different was I poured the syrup mixture on the apples and then added a solid top crust instead of lattice. Of course I poked some vent holes with a fork. Always put a baking sheet under any pie in case it bubbles over. Thanks for the great recipe Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Best apple pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrislorio
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Perfect recipe as is! I just turned the heat down to 350 after 10 min and cooked it for about 45 min. Fantastic! The only issue I ran across was I tried to substitute sugar for Truvia. It didn't work so I reverted back to original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fabulous! I added some cinnamon sugar and nutmeg and a little extra brown sugar to the apples. I put most of the topping into a bowl and stirred it with the apples instead of on top. I only spread a little on the top. I got my topping too thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom's Cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
BEST APPLE PIE HAND DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I haven't made an apple pie in 20 years or more. I decided to do so for my new beaux. He said this was the best pie he has ever eaten!! I did add cinnamon. :-)thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It's a weird recipe compared traditional apple pie, but TASTY!! I would count myself as an apple pie enthusiast, and if it hadn't been for the abundance of apples on hand, I wouldn't have tried it. I am really glad I did. This one's likely replacing my old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 5,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States