Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Felabi Phillips
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Amazing! This recipe is simply delicious. I followed the directions exactly adding 2 tsp of vanilla and pouring the sauce over the top of the pie. I used 3 large apples and there was no need to mix any sauce in the apples. This recipe is perfect as is! Our pie was gone in an an hour. I will use this recipe forever. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felabi Phillips

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
this pie is absolutely amazing!!!! Follow the directions and you will wow yourself and guests. I had given up on making pie until I found this recipe - delicious, beautiful to look at and it will be a hit - guaranteed!!! (I've made this pie at least a dozen times now!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Everyone said this was the best pie I ever made and I didn't even make the crust from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Knowlton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made this pie for the first time last fall. I loved it!!!!!! And so did everyone who had some of it. I loved how beautiful it looked. I did pour the sauce over it and when I took it out of the oven it was sparkling. i am about to make it again. I remember that I added some of my grandmother's spices, cinnamon and nutmeg. Will do the same this time and as one reviewer added some vanilla I will try that. Thank you Rebecca and your grandmother for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott O'gorman
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
this came out unbelievable!!! my second time making it, living in Ny I decided to try a mixture of Granny Greens and our own Cortland Apple's to take away some tart I followed the recipe to the T, everyone loves it TY Scott from Ny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott O'gorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
The outcome was okay. It wasn't too sweet or tart. My pie did not overflow like other readers mentioned but i only used about 6 normal sized granny smiths. I had to bake it longer than instructed. I also didn't pour the sauce over the crust. I mixed the sauce and apples together then pour into the crust. It didn't blow my mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe calls for, except with a whole top crust rather than lattice. Because I didn't use a lattice top crust, I poured most of the mixture over the apples prior to putting the top crust on. I also ended up doubling the mixture and using about 3/4 of the second batch just because I'd let the first batch simmer (and therefore thicken) too long and I was afraid I didn't have enough. I cut large vents in my top crust and then poured more of the sugar mixture into them. I also glazed the pie with a thick layer of the sugar mmixture. This was my first time making apple pie, so when I saw all the juice coming off from the apples, I actually took the pie out and poured off the juice. This may have helped me avoid a runny pie, though, because it set just fine. The thick glaze over the top crust turned into a sort of praline and prevented my crust from burning as well. I took this to my boyfriend's fire station while he was working and they RAVED over it. "Best dessert I have ever had", "Best apple pie I have ever tasted and I KNOW apple pie", "Phenomenal"... the praise went on. Not one of them, including my boyfriend who is a very good cook himself and is known for noticing subtle flavors or lack of, ever mentioned missing the cinnamon or nutmeg flavor that often is included in other apple pie recipes. They're just not needed. This pie recipe is amazing as is, I assure you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy LeGrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Seriously, the best apple pie ever! We substitute honey for the white sugar and its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I made it the last two years this being the third, i pick my own apples, i added a little cinnamon to the mixture and some for the top, i did glaze the the crust a little . Always looks, smells and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Love love this recipe. Easy and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,086) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States