Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Donna Bell-Buhrman
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This pie is yummy, I used the recipe as described, added tb cinnamon and tsp nutmeg, brushed the filling on the lattice crust and it turned out so beautiful I was shocked, at the presentation. The flavor is delicious !!! My question is if anyone knows can I freeze these for about a week ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Bell-Buhrman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is the best pie crust I have every made! Simple and easy and now the only crust I will make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelChef
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and it was quite a hit! I used piecrust cutters to top it off with decorative turkeys, acorns and leaves for the occasion. I followed the recipe very closely; I doubled it to allow for plenty of filling for my large pie dish. Although I boiled the liquid filling as dictated by the recipe, it never thickened enough and stayed somewhat runny even after it baked. When we cut the pie, which was still warm, it fell apart so it was scooped out in pieces rather than slices. Next time, I will boil the liquid filler longer to try to get it to thicken better. Nonetheless, it was a delicious dessert and every bite was eaten. We served it with a little ice cream on top and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Worst pie ever... More like chunky Apple sauce with pie crust I would seriously reconsider this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this scrumptious pie for Thanksgiving and brought it to my family's home - hence - no leftovers. I've been craving it since and made another today..a smaller one though since it's only 2 of us. I do like cinnamon in my apple pie so I add that with about a tablespoon of sugar to the apples along with a little vanilla. I tried a different pie crust made with cream cheese for today's pie. It sure looks pretty but it'll be hours till I can safely dig in. This is my GO TO recipe for apple pie from now on. Thanks for sharing this family recipe with the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gruppuso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this twice now, both times the filling crystallized and I had to start over. The first time was because I overcooked it. The instructions say to boil the mixture, but this is a mistake. The butter completely separated from the sugar, and shot out of the sugar "mass", now the consistency of putty, alarmingly. The second time was because I let the mixture cool slightly after cooking. The sugar then thickened and when I tried to reheat it a little I noticed that the sugar was again separating from the butter, and forming the putty-like substance from before. I thought I could beat the reaction by pouring it over the lattice quickly, but it sat on top of my lattice and refused to move, ruining it. So, the filling is very temperamental. Don't overheat it (don't boil it.) Don't cook it for too long. Don't let it cool. And finally, it's much easier NOT to pour this over the lattice to ensure that you get even coverage. Even when it's cooked properly, the filling is viscous enough that it has trouble spreading evenly throughout. As far as the filling not setting up: You need to flour the apples. Especially if you're going off script and using a juicier variety of apples. I find that if you are using a pan deep enough for the 8 apples called for in the recipe, you might want to do 1.5 times the amount of filling called for. This is an extremely basic recipe. If you're looking for a wow effect, you should add spice to taste. The recipe doesn't even call for cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Delicious!!! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Prime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This was my first homemade apple pie and it was a hit! My husband doesnt even like apple pie and he loved it! It didnt have the most beautiful decorations, but who cares?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The very first apple pie I made, and it came out delicious. One of my cousins who is not a fan of apple pies already asked me to make it for Christmas!!! I didn't realize the pastry was not part of the recipe, and it was too late to run to the grocery store to get one already made. I had to search online for a while to find one with the ingredients I had at home. Other than that, it was easy to make, and it was absolutely delicious. I did add a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg like some of the reviewers suggested. Just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbv
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I had extra pie crust from a pumpkin pie I made and I decided to try to bake an apple pie. I'm not big on pies in general so I was just "ehhhh" about the whole thing. Well, besides the annoyance of peeling and cutting the dang apples, it was so easy to make and omg seriously woaaaahhh..... Once this thing came out of the oven I almost fell on my booty! Nom nom!!! I actually added a bit of pumpkin spice to the butter mix before pouring it over the apples, but even without it in sure it would have been spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States