Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I have never left a review before but Rebecca, Your Great Grandmother Ople's recipe is amazing. My bonus daughter and I made this last night. We couldn't wait for it to cool to eat it. My hubby says it was by far THE best pie he's had in his life! I made it exactly as written but I made a little extra of the sauce 'cause that's how we roll. I realized after we ate it that there was no cinnamon in it….we didn't miss it at all. Thank you Grandma Ople!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made this apple pie. According to my husband, it's really good. Make sure that you have a roller so the pie looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I have not only tried this recipe but It is my one claim to fame, especially overseas…. No one can beat my apple pie. And you know what? This is the easiest recipe there is… Maybe that is why.. Simple ingredients and easy to find anywhere! I usually drip the melted sugar butter through the lattice and then on top so it soaks into the apples more. My only suggestion…. Cinnamon! It is so much better to sprinkle with cinnamon before adding lattice…. and the smell from the oven… Yum. Thank you so much to your grandma. I'm sure this is how all our grandmas made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Need immediate help on this recipe. I used plain all purpose flour, just opened the bag and double checked the label . My melted butter and tablespoons of flour will not thicken, just turning brown an burning. After I through this out what should I do differently?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum, yum, yummy! I used a jar of canned apples instead of the regular, fresh ones. Because it came with a syrup, I used that instead of making one and it was DELICIOUS! All I did was sprinkle just a touch of cinnamon and made the crust! So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Delicious...added syrup to apples and followed others suggestions...second helpings all round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this twice and both times it came out great! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good - added cinnamon and used Macintosh apples. The kids licked their plates clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandym

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by els
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Rather than the lattice top I cut out flowers with a cookie cutter poured on most of the topping put the cutouts over the top and then poured on the rest, it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Fabulous! I used the following suggestions: Baked by temperatures as directed. Added 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp cinnamon and sprinkle of nutmeg.. Not over powering, used 4 1/2 large Granny Smith apples.. Next time I will use 5-6 apples, used half of sauce to mix with apples and half to top. Great with Grandmas Ruth Pie Crust which made 3 crusts so I did a lattice topping for one pie and a crumb topping for the other pie.. Both awesome! A new 4th of July tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States