Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Photo by Enisi
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a very tasty pie! My whole family loved it. I made it as written except poured 2/3 of mixture over apples before putting on lattice crust (per other reviews), then brushed the rest over the top. It was absolutely the best apple pie I have ever eaten. Make sure you use the Granny Smith apples called for in the recipe...they are firm and tart enough to balance the sweetness. This will be my go-to apple pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Well, good-bye every other apple pie recipe I've tried; HELLO, this one! My man asked for "a bit more tart" in this year's Thanksgiving dessert. The pour-on bit worked perfectly to balance the tart Granny Smith and winesaps I used. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Jennifer Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
love it always get compliments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Lovely flavor, but it was more like apple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time for our Thanksgiving Dinner. I was curious and touched by the story of Grandma Opie and the amount of reviews. I used Cameo apples and put a small amount of cinnamon over the apples before doing the lattice crust all else I followed the recipe. I am always the one that is given the job of making the apple pies and everyone said this was the best apple pie they have had! I did read some of the reviews about the water and I have to say I was concerned but I cooked the sauce until thick it was not watery at all. I am pleased that this will be my recipe for apple pies and will continue to keep Grandma Opies recipe going!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Amazing! So good I made two this year. Love the carmel flavoring with the apples, sooooooo good. I didn't cut the top into a lattice, but that doesn't change the taste. Added just a tsp of cinnamon to the carmel mixture in one, and I loved that change. Also, a tip I tried this year for the first time, poured boiling water over sliced apples, covered and let sit for 10 min, then drained to slightly pre-cook them. The resulting apples were PERFECT in the finished pie, although the crust didn't start off as mounded as before. I will make this pie in this way forever more, simply DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I was disappointed in this recipe. I did not like the fact that the apples weren't cooked before baking and there just wasn't enough cinnamon/spices or juice. It was beautiful, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this pie today. Its the best apple pie I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I am very well known in my family for making "the best" Apple pies. Decided to change it up a bit this year so picked this recipe. It was a hit and was as yummy as it was beautiful. Actually just discovered AllRecipes this year and saving to your recipe book. I may never use a cookbook again! Love this app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Gannia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
We followed the recipe exactly as is and this apple pie was a huge hit! My brother and I aren't big apple pie fans but THIS apple pie is beyond words. So delicious! My sister loves all apple pies until she tried this one, now she only wants this one! We use organic Granny Smith apples and they are perfect with this recipe. Thank you for this incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 6,397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States