Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
WONDERFUL !!! It didn't last very long, the pie was devoured before I could sit down, my fiancé, daughter and brother are pie connoisseurs, not a complaint at all !!! Making again tonight .... Two thumbs up !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Amazing pie! Little sweet but to my own fault I think as I used sweeter apples but it was ridiculously delicious. I added a sprinkle of cinnamon to syrup as well!! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaimi Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Loved this pie, my husband even got up in the middle of the night to have another piece of it. I use coconut oil instead of butter and sprinkled lemon juice on apples then sprinkled with cinnamon. The whole house smelled incredible while baking. Love it , I poured all the sugars on top. I posted a picture on Facebook and everyone at work is begging me to bake another and bring it in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this and omg its better than my moms Duch apple tart, don't tell her lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tin_knocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MichelleL9
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Hands down the best apple pie ever!!! I have made it following the recipe to the T several times....always perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AshleyB
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I tried this with Grandma Ruth's pie crust, first time for both recipes. I made two pies. Both turned out fantastic, I did read the other reviews and added more flour to the melted bute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Hands down the best apple pie I have ever made. The filling is all you want from an apple pie, sweet, a little tart and buttery. I made this pie twice the first time I followed the recipe as is. And it was indeed a five star recipe. The second time I did not have any brown sugar so I carmelized the butter slightly together with 1cup of white sugar. Then I added 1/4 of milk instead of water and let it simmer to a nice golden carmel sauce. I also added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples. It was delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I really enjoyed it! The only reason it got a 4 is because after cooking, the apple mixture was very watery, almost like liquid! In the future, I think I will omit the water in the mixture. Otherwise, very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made this pie when I had quite a few apples that needed to be used. I was thrilled to find this recipe and read all the comments. I used gala apples because that is what I had on hand. I also had very ripe figs and threw them in as well and did everything else to the letter. The result was WOW!!! The best apple pie I have ever had. My fiance and children could not get enough of this pie. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Made this last night with the Butter Flaky Pie Crust recipe, and it was a huge hit! I took other commenters' suggestions and added 1t cinnamon, 1T vanilla, and a splash of nutmeg (removing 1T of the water from the syrup). I also mixed 2/3 of the syrup with the apples, reserving the rest to pour on top. I baked in a glass pan at 350* for the entire time. I also only had salted butter on hand, but it didn't seem to make a difference in the amazing taste! The only additional change I think I would make for next time is mixing the entire pan of syrup with the apples to create a clean topped lattice crust and perhaps doing a milk wash on top and sprinkling with granulated sugar. This pie is fantastic, thank you so much for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 6,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States