Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
So I made this pie, was great until I put in frig, when I took it out next day the crust was so soggy!? Would it be ok not to refrigerate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yes, I have tried this recipe three times. It is fantastic! The last time I had it, I was surprised that the bottom of the crust looked raw and did not hold together. The first two times it was terrific. I wonder if it could have been my pie plate. It was one of those ceramic pie plates that have a pie recipe printed inside of it. No matter, it still tasted wonderful. J ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wow! This is a great apple pie recipe. I've been making apple pie since I was a teenager and never came across a recipe quite like this one. The only things I did differently was add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg to the liquid because I like those spices in my apple pie. And I also did a regular solid crust for the top instead of the lattice. I just poured the liquid over the apples before covering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Used the filling in an Apple Crisp which everyone thought was amazing. Definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent recipe ! Tastes great and easy to make !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
It definitely needs changing in the recipe, I made this with the Pillsbury pie crust. and it is good for 9" pan, i put 4 apples and it was enough! my apples weren't big but medium, so i have no idea how you fit 8 apples!! Then of course I added cinnamon and vanilla extract to the sauce. and yes i mixed the apples with the sauce because I knew the running over the lattice will NOT work! I left enough sauce to kind of glaze the top with it. so i added the apples and sauce to the pan and added the top crust. i glazed a good amount of sauce on the top part and i still had about half a cup of sauce left in the pot. it was just too much sauce. baked the pie 15 minutes on 425 and then 30 minutes 350. but halfway through i realized because of the glaze it is burning, so i covered the pie half way with aluminum foil. now for the taste, it was ok. it was VERY runny and i thanked myself for not using all the sauce! It would turn into a soup if I would have used all of it!! the taste was 4 out of 5, but the whole thing was a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I modified mine to make it gluten free. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Made this pie almost exactly as it...needed less apples then called for and used a bit more flour in the sauce. I used Pillsbury pie crust and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was my first pie Ive ever made, but I think it should be sweeter.... next time I'm goin to try rolling the apples in white sugar and cinnamon in addition to the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
With more apples it might be good but thanks for your time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 5,939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States