Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I have been using this recipe for years (ever since I found it here on allrecipes). I love it and so does EVERYONE that I ever made it for. Do not mix the caramel sauce with the apples. Follow the recipe and poor it over a lattice top, I have done it both ways and it is soooo much better if you do it like the recipe says. I do make a couple of very small changes. After cutting up the apples I add a little lemon juice and a tbsp or so of cinnamon to them. When I make the caramel I add a half tsp of vanilla extract and a half tsp of cinnamon to the sauce after adding the sugars. Other than that I follow the recipe exactly every time and it turns out heavenly every time. Another very important thing to remember is the pie will need at least 5 hours to cool, so that it is not runny - that is pretty much the case with all fruit pies. Giving them a few hours to cool makes the taste better too, because all the favors have had a chance to really mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisha mom of 4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Yes, made it last nite for after dinner treat a request from a guest. Everyone loved it. Sorry, they ate the whole pie, no pix......lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e_ingeneri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmconl
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I would love for a good crust recipe to join this pie. I chose one that was difficult to work with. Also my husband wanted cinnamon added in. I added a teaspoon and felt it was a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmconl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
My sauce turned outa bit thick, it did not cascade down and cover all the apples, so some bites were a little more tart than I would like. A lot of the sauce just stayed on the top and baked that way. It was still delicious though!! I will for sure try this again but I will mix the sauce in and make sure they are all coated. Very yummy,,oh I also HAD to add some cinnamon as I just can't have it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Hubby said it was the best apple pie he had ever had! :) VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LydiaMC
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This recipe was so easy to make, I used a store bought rolled prepared pie crust and just rolled it out a little bigger for both top and bottom. Have not tasted it yet because it just now came out of the oven but it looks and smells amazing! If it taste as good as it looks Grandma Opal knew her business! Will write another review after I taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
First time in 6 years of marriage my husband (lover of apple pies) said he liked an apple pie I made. Thanks Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
FABULOUS! Thank you! This is a real apple pie- magnificent in its simplicity, easy to make. No one left a crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I decided while in the grocery store that since today is mother's day I waa goiny to attempt at making an apple pie. I grabbed the basic ingredients but grabbed pink lady apples instead of green apples even though i know my mom stands by granny smith apples. Anyway I came home and started looking for a simple fairly quick recipe and this was the first one to pop up. Now keep in mind I really didn't care for apple pie at all. I like my apples crunchy and not cooked. I made this one and after it made the house smell so good I had to try it. This pie is absolutely delicious!! I've been converted and joined the rest of the apple pie loving masses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I usually trust the reviews and the "popular" rating list, but I did not like this recipe at all. I followed the directions and didn't have any problems while making it. In the end it tasted like apples cooked in sugar - very very sweet and frankly not edible to me. Continuing my search for the perfect apple pie to put in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 5,979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States