Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Worked out great tasted great. I omitted the salt and added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
In my 47 years, I have made many, many apple pies from various recipes. Finally I have found my "keeper", my go-to apple pie. This pie is extraordinary. Aside from 3 exceptions, I made this pie as per instructions. Instead of water in the sauce, I used an equal amount of half and half. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and 1 1/2 half teaspoons of ground ginger, also to the sauce. My pie was baked for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is beautiful, and delicious. Thank you for sharing Grandma Ople's recipe. She would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonniSalafia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry Godwin
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a FANTASTIC pie! Pouring the sugar mixture over the crust is the kicker. Gives the top crust a nice, sticky goodness. I followed the recipe exactly & only added some ground cinnamon & cloves to the sugar mixture. Simple to make & flavor is so good. Grandma Ople sure knew what she was doing with this pie. Great, great, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Godwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BCARROLL924
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My husband and daughter just told me this might be the best dessert I've EVER made! Only slight change was I added a bit of cinnamon to the sugar/butter mix. Otherwise, I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Fabulous! Easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly but added a tablespoon of cinnamon, 1.5 teaspoons of vanilla extract, and a few dashes of nutmeg... My hubby ate the whole pie in 2 days! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaeMills
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe! This is my go-to apple pie recipe! Every time I made this pie I get great compliments. I do add the apple slices to the mixture, coat it well and then add the slices to the dish, reserving some of the mixture to pour over the lattice top. Thanks for sharing. Definitely, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Why did I never think of making a roux as the base? Brilliant! As other said I added more flour and I cooked it for a while like any roux to get rid of the raw flour taste and gain that nutty flavor whisking the whole time Then instead of water I substituted a nice sherry which increased the nutty caramel flavor significantly and added cinnamon, some honey, a little corn starch and a pinch of salt. Since it needed to cook a few minutes after I added the sherry I added the apples right into the pot and cooked them for a few minutes in the bubbling sauce which cuts down on bake time and the possibility of too brown crust. Family can't stop raving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Hands down, the best apple pie ever. Easy to make, considering the really nice crust on top does not require yout o brush with egg or sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 6,429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States