Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I just saw this recipe and it's just like the one I've used for years. It's so fun to see the fellow Granny Smith apple lovers. I believe that's what makes this pie so good. Bake on and graciously receive the compliments on your pie. Moshamama....your grandma was a gem. My kids have this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicilian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My first apple pie; used some apples from my family's property; simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Go Grandma go grandma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the best apple pie I have ever tasted and it always gets rave reviews. I like to save a little bit of the sugar/butter liquid and brush it all over the lattice. It makes the crust so delicious. This apple pie goes exceptionally well with vanilla bean ice cream, too. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I have baked Grandma Opie's Apple pie several times over the past 2 or 3 years and it is really delicious. I use the French pie crust pastry recipe (egg, vinegar and sugar) for this pie and it is wonderful every time. Thank you for posting your Grandma's pie recipe for us to enjoy. Your updated note made me cry it was so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MacAttack
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Delicious pie, loved the look of it after it had crisped up. Had to put tin foil over the top crust for the last 10 mins of baking to avoid over browning as is brushed the filling over the crust before baking. Also added 1/4 tsp of vanilla and ~1tsp of cinnamon to add a different flavour. Thanks for the experiment recipe, it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is now the only apple pie my son will eat. About to make it for my boys for the 3rd time. The only thing I did differently than the recipe is add cinnamon - oh, and I didn't do the lattice crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelane Chaddick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Omg!!! This pie was a hit!!!! Follow the step by step directions and you won't be disappointed I didn't adjust anything and it was perfect. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
God bless Grandma Ople. What a wonderful legacy for her family. This is the absolute best apple pie I've ever made and I will think fondly of your dear little grandma every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Did not care for this at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States