Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this version of the apple pie twice; I made it for this past Thanksgiving and I made again for Christmas dinner. Both occasions, two totally different sets of people. The reaction was the same out of both crowds. THEY LOVED IT! I was asked to make it again by both sets of people and to also make more than one. I also added my own lil' twist to the recipe.... I added cinnamon to the filling........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have made this twice now. Once at Thanksgiving an also Christmas. It was the first thing everyone commented on. Everyone loved this pie. The in laws are very picky and hard to please so that's saying a lot. This will be a permanent fixture in my house from now on. Thank you for sharing your grandma oples pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skyfire1228
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this pie as part of the Christmas gift packages I made this year, and it was amazing. I used this recipe to make mini pies using a giant muffin tin, and one full recipe was enough to fill 9 mini pies. I did make a few changes: - I ended up using 8 ambrosia apples rather than Granny Smiths, because that's what I had available. - Rather than adding water, I added apple cider to thin the caramel. - I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and dashes of nutmeg and allspice to the mix. - I added the caramel to the sliced apples before filling the pies, adding a little extra cider to help it mix properly and leaving a little left in the pan to brush on top. - I thinned the caramel mix in the pan with more apple cider to help me be able to brush it over top of the lattice. - I baked them the whole time at 350, for a little over an hour. These pies turned out perfectly. After letting the pies rest and cool, the filling gelled and wasn't runny at all, and the flavor was amazing. This is hands-down the best pie I've ever made, and is definitely going to be my go-to apple pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good. I don't make pie often, but this one is really a winner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I wish i could give this 500 stars. I don't bake because im terrible at it but this was soo simple and the best pie ive had in my life! Thank you to your angel and to you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this recipe as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sampsonsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
awesome pie!!! This is delicious and really lets the apple flavor shine through. make it exactly as the recipe specifies. Have made this twice now and everyone in the family raves. this is my new go to apple pie recipe....won't try anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haileyhp
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I make this all the time and my family loves it!! I add a pinch of vanilla and cinnamon and it's a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I think the recipe should have you assemble the pie first, then make the sugar and butter liquid. It took me some time to assemble the pie and by the time I was ready to pour the mixture over top it was a glob. It didn't really seep through the lattice top. Next time I will change the order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The best ever! Wish I had this recipe when I had my "Tea Room". I'm sure it would have sold out daily. No adjustments needed and every single person I have served it to says it is the best they have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 5,826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States