Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
SO GOOD!! Super easy too. The only change I made was to add some pumpkin pie spice, which really made it. Definitely would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Frith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Antonio Longo
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Love this pie !!!! Everyone goes crazy when I make it.i just add a hint of cinnamon but stay to the simple but tasty recepie !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antonio Longo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is a great simple apple pie recipe! The only adjustments I made was add a little salt on the apples, cinnamon and raw sugar on the top of the lattice crust. I've used different types of fresh apples as well, however, pippin apples are the best for form and compliments the tart/sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Amazing recipe! Everyone ranted and raved about this pie! I will never use another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My pie hating husband ate half of it straight from the pie plate! I followed directions exactly, except for the crust. I was lazy, and used Pillsbury pie crust (2pack)....just unroll, fill, and bake! I'm telling you, what a time saver! The best crust to compliment this simply delicious filling! Oh, I did sprinkle a little cinnamon, and a dash of cardamum on the filling. ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is the PIE! Only make this pie if you're aiming to impress! I made this twice last Thanksgiving (and both my and my husband's families RAVED, I totally felt like a real live baker), once with Fiji apples, and once with all Granny Smith apples. The Granny Smiths are tart, and I was strongly reminded of McDonalds apple pies. The Fiji apples I felt were too bland and needed some umph. So this year when I make this pie (using the aMAZing Perfect Pie Crust found at simplyrecipes.com) I will use a nice balance of both regular apples and GS. I even splurged on some gorgeous pie plates at Will-Sonomas just for this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slandrig
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My first apple pie! Success! I took others advice and added: -1 Tbsp Vanilla -1 tsp cinnamon -Dash of nutmeg -Coated apples with some of mixture and poured the rest on top -Put pan underneath for drippings. The first pie made a huge mess in my oven. I didn't notice and when I went to cook the second pie the oven smoked!! I used Mels Kitchen Cafe Sour Cream crust. Everyone raved about how great the pie was. Thanks Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We loved it. I did add cinnamon to the recipe. Will be my go to apple pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Chabot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by doingit4kk
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This is definitely my go to recipe!! Soooo good!! I didn't change the recipe much, but instead of pouring the mixture over the apples and lattice, I just pour over the apples and cover the apple mixture with a full crust. Slit the crust, put a little egg and sugar on and then bake! And again, Sooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This recipe is by far one of the greatest I have ever tried. My husband and I have been using it for years and we are always asked to bring it to events. If you love apple pie, try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 6,166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States