Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Deb H
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Not that this recipe needs my review, but I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was just awesome! I followed many of the suggestions that others made by adding 1 heaping tsp Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tbsp vanilla to the sauce. After I piled the apples in, I poured on about 1/2 the sauce, then did the lattice and then the rest of the sauce. The tart apples are really a must, if sweeter apples are used, the pie would have been too sweet. (The sauce is sweet enough on its own.) I will absolutely make this again! Allrecipes.com comes through again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This pie was amazing!!! It didn't last a day. I did add some cinnamon to the apples just to get that kick of taste. Otherwise, thank you for this recipe! I plan to try other apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous! I cut the amount of sugar by half and with the tartness of the apples it was the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I have been baking pies since I was little and this was by far the worst apple pie filling I have ever made. VERY disappointed. I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and I wish I would have stuck with my regular apple pie recipe. I don't understand why this recipe has so many positive reviews??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanna
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was amazing! First time I ever made homemade pie crust, and this recipe is wonderful. People couldn't get enough of my crust on my apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is excellent! I made it for my family and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Outstanding!!! I made this with my mom but with gluten free flour for the filling instead and it was delicious. We made it on Thanksgiving and it was the perfect treat. I do suggest eating it with some vanilla ice cream for the perfect flavor. If your filling came out totally messed up like mine did the first time, you probably just messed up the order of the ingredients. We were really frustrated because the butter totally separated away from the flour, sugar, and water but after watching the video we realized that you have to put the ingredients in a different order then the recipe says. You have to put the butter in first, then the flour, then the two sugars(one at a time), and then add the water last. Make sure the ingredient that you have put in the saucepan is completely incorporated into the filling before adding the next ingredient. That should do the trick. This is a need to try recipe and I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
We loved this apple pie, & are THANKFUL for Grandma Ople's recipe. I added 1/2 tspn vanilla, 1/8 tspn cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Here are some common baking sense ideas for the novice baker (and those who gave less than rave reviews): Make sure to use Granny Smith apples as called for in order to balance tartness with the sweetness of the caramel sauce. If you choose to use sweeter apples that you have on hand, you have to substitute with a teaspoon or 2 of lemon juice for some of the water. Also, juicier apples may require more thickener. You can toss an extra tspn. or 2 of flour into your apples and toss them around to coat. For those of you who thought it needed salt, add a dash, or use salted butter. Also, if you are adding cinnamon, toss it with your apples to lightly coat them. Okay...Melt the butter on low-medium heat. Using a whisk, whisk in flour to form a paste, add water, whisk, & immediately add sugar. Whisk until it starts to bubble. Put on low & simmer for 3-5 min. to carmelize. Taste & adjust (Salt? Vanilla?). Pressed for time? Or not up to making the lattice crust? Then pile apples in bottom pie shell, Pour sauce all over apples. Put on top crust. Fold bottom crust up over top crust and crimp. Put at LEAST 6 open slits in top crust so steam can escape, juice can thicken & it should not overflow. Use at least a 9" deep dish pie plate, or 10" if shallow plate. Bake as directed. Do not forget to put LOVE into it! Yum! TY MOSHASMAMA and Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was impressed by the over 6000 reviews... and took Leslie Sullivan's suggestions and baked it according to her directions. I am not a novice baker and always asked to bring the dessert. This apple pie was terrible. I used granny smith apples and diligently cut them into uniform slices. My apple where undercooked and the flavor was less than desirable. I used high quality Penzey spices. Sadly this pie was only 1/3 eaten and the rest given an undignified funeral in the garbage. I will stick to my family's traditional crumb topping apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delicious... I did not like apple pie but cooked this for my 7 year old. However, when I tasted the pie it was delicious, my family love the pie. I did add; vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few drops of lemon juice. But the process of making the sauce, mixing the apples and peaches with part of the sauce, pouring the sauce over crust was important. I will always make this for the holiday. My daughter went crazy for the pie and she never eats apple! Thank you, for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States