Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Holy lord this was incredible!!! I added 1 t of cinnamon and 1 T of vanilla and it was the best pie I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dineh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweetwater, Texas, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachelg
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Perfect recipe. I love cinnamon so I sprinkled some on the apples prior to adding the lattice top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this with my boyfriend for Easter, and the family loved it!! I added cinnamon and nutmeg for extra spice, but we were told to make the pie again for next year because it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Hands down the best apple pie recipe I have ever had! My sauce kept curdling for some reason but I still used it. It melted fine in the apples once baked but stayed in clumps on top of the lattice crust. It ended up tasting like caramel candy chunks on top which was good but I would love any advice I could get to avoid this from happening. Again...AMAZING recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I decided to try something different for a change instead of the same "O" same "O" and am I ever glad I did Wowzers this recipe is amazing. Add cinnamon, nutmeg, lemon juice if you want. I added Grand Mariner. This recipe is outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made it several times and everyone loves it. I use Ruth Grandmas Pie Crust recipe with it. A few things I also do after reading other reviews: - Brush egg white onto the pie crust and put into the oven for 7 minutes at 350. - Add 1tsp of cinnamon and 1/2tsp of nutmeg into the sauce. - Bake the pie at 350 for 45 minutes. I also have issues with the sauce seperating. I make sure the pie is made with the lattice topping on so that as soon as the sauce is made, I can pour it on and put it in the oven. I mix the sauce on the lowest heat and never change the temperature, if I try to let it boil and shimmer it all separates. Such a yummy pie, thanks for the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Check out "wee red" review, pretty much followed all suggestions but also created the lattice on parchment paper covering with the same and lightly rolling to "firm it up before putting in the fridge. It made it very easy to drop on top and seal easily before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is a good recipe. Ive changed a few things myself. like add a teaspoon of lemon juice to keep the sharp flavor. and also adding a bit of pure vanilla extract helps. another more common place tactic is adding cinnamon/sugar mix to the latticework which not only helps darken the crust but gives it wonderful flavoring. I see others complaining about it not turning out right. You cant say you followed the directions exactly but changed one thing. mixing the apples with the sauce mix is a no no. Apples are moist. And if you add that to the sauce it will come out runny. all in all good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I bake cakes and my husband loves pies so I decided to try this recipe. The first time I made it my husband loved it. This is a recipe that should make you so proud of your grandma. I'm sure this isn't the only thing you are proud of her for but thank you for sharing a little of your grandma's love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States