Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made it several times and everyone loves it. I use Ruth Grandmas Pie Crust recipe with it. A few things I also do after reading other reviews: - Brush egg white onto the pie crust and put into the oven for 7 minutes at 350. - Add 1tsp of cinnamon and 1/2tsp of nutmeg into the sauce. - Bake the pie at 350 for 45 minutes. I also have issues with the sauce seperating. I make sure the pie is made with the lattice topping on so that as soon as the sauce is made, I can pour it on and put it in the oven. I mix the sauce on the lowest heat and never change the temperature, if I try to let it boil and shimmer it all separates. Such a yummy pie, thanks for the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Check out "wee red" review, pretty much followed all suggestions but also created the lattice on parchment paper covering with the same and lightly rolling to "firm it up before putting in the fridge. It made it very easy to drop on top and seal easily before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is a good recipe. Ive changed a few things myself. like add a teaspoon of lemon juice to keep the sharp flavor. and also adding a bit of pure vanilla extract helps. another more common place tactic is adding cinnamon/sugar mix to the latticework which not only helps darken the crust but gives it wonderful flavoring. I see others complaining about it not turning out right. You cant say you followed the directions exactly but changed one thing. mixing the apples with the sauce mix is a no no. Apples are moist. And if you add that to the sauce it will come out runny. all in all good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I bake cakes and my husband loves pies so I decided to try this recipe. The first time I made it my husband loved it. This is a recipe that should make you so proud of your grandma. I'm sure this isn't the only thing you are proud of her for but thank you for sharing a little of your grandma's love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this pie yesterday and it came out excellent. My husband loved it. I made a few changes, added lemon juice to the apples, added cinnamon, ginger and a little vanilla with the syrup. Prepared half the syrup and mixed with the apples. Prepared the other half of the syrup after I did the lattice top then poured it over the pie. I used 2 tbsp of flour and 1 tbsp of cornstarch for the entire syrup recipe. After finishing about 8 p.m. I allowed the pie to cool and set overnight. It was not runny at all. Love it!!! This will be my apple pie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Really good! My boyfriend is an apple pie FANatic and he loved this recipe.... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is different then the Apple Pie I am used to. But it is very good for sure. I followed the recipie exactly ingredients wise. The only thing I did different was pour most of the sugar mixture over the apples before I put on the top strips, then put on the lattice and brushed the remaining mixture onto the lattice strips. the liquid mixture sets up very quickly so keep the pan on the stove until you are ready to brush it on the lattice. I was concerned that pouring the mixture over the apples would make the pie "Spotty" and I would have areas with no carmel mixture and others with too much, but it evened out nicely while baking and I had no problems, the pie was uniform. I baked it at 350 the whole time on the middle rack. I cut my apple slices thin so they would cook fully. I think those of you who ended up with runny pies may not have simmered the sugar mixture enough before you put over the apples. The simmer is what thickens it up. After my pie cooled I put it in the fridge for awhile to fully cool. This is not a pie you want to serve warm right out of the oven, you need to fully cool it first, then microwave it to warm it back up if you want it warm. I prefer it cold. After a night in the fridge to let the flavors meld together it was better then it was right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I read a lot of these reviews, mostly the negative ones, and I'm so pleased to say that I don't know what they did! This was not overly sweet at all, it was a very good pie. I used the Pioneer Woman's perfect pie crust with this, and it was amazing! I have my go to pie recipe! The only thing that I changed was I used only 6 apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this pie last night, All I can say is that I love recipes that makes me look like a Rock Star Cook! It came out perfect. If any one has trouble with this recipe, watch the video first! So helpful, it gave me confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States