Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2000
I am soooo glad I tried this recipe!! My family loved it! It tasted sooo good! It lasted less the 4 hours : ) Everyone keeps asking me to make it again. I'm still trying to find a good crust recipe, but I'm sure I will at this site! Do try this recipe, you won't regret it and your family will gobble it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
Thank you, thank you Rebecca and Grandma Ople.... this is one delicious pie. My whole family loved it and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
This is wonderful! I won't dare make it unless I am taking it somewhere for a croud. Otherwise, I might be tempted to eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
This pie is excellent!!!Everyone loved it!!!I even got rave reviews from my in-laws and was asked to make it for a party they are having next weekend. The granny smith apples gave it a little tartness and it wasn't too sweet. I used Pillsbury pie crusts which made it so easy. I poured the liquid over the apples and then put on the top crust with vents cut in and poured some more liquid over the top crust. This is now our favorite apple pie! This should definately be in the top 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
My seven year old son and I spent a great hour this cold afternoon, peeling and slicing granny smith apples, and making a tasty surprise for the rest of my family. As the finished pie called from the counter, I must have been asked one hundred times throughout the afternoon, by every member of the family, if they could cut into the pie. Once we did finally cut into the pie, the results were fantastic. A quote from my mother pretty much summed up the experience "That was the best apple pie I have eaten"...and folks, she's had a LOT of apple pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
WOW! What a delicious pie. Perfect a la mode or with whipped cream. I've made it several times and it was perfect each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I made this recipe first for a church supper and wondered why the Knights (of Columbus) kept one behind when serving everyone else. I made this yesterday for our Thanksgiving dinner and found out why! What an incredible pie! I didn't have enough Grannys yesterday and substutited Cortand apples, slicing them a little thicker since they are softer and WOW! I don't think I will ever use another apple pie recipe again! Plus, the presentation is outstanding!! That alone impresses everyone (even if you use a premade pie dough!)!!!Thank you Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
My husband just loved this apple pie and he is hard to please. He said it was the best apple pie he has ever had. And that goes for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
HOLY MOLY! I've made pies in the past, but this one was the prettiest & tastiest that I have ever made. I made it for a dinner party & it got rave reviews. I used Cortland apples because Granny Smith's were not in season yet (here in Rochester, NY) and everyone went WILD with complements. You have to try this pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
WOW! What a fantastic pie! This apple pie will be showing up at several holiday events for certain! Try sliced almonds on top, too. *Update: I used puff pastry scraps and threw a sliced apple in a buttered skillet along with a sprinkle of cinamon. I covered it with the syrup and chucked it in the oven. Wonderful use of pastry scraps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States