Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by sarahbear
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Very very good recipe! 4 stars as is, and a solid 5 following the suggestions of others. I of course did the lattice top, and used my mothers recipe for the double crust. I added 2 ts of vanilla extract, 2 ts of cinnamon, and a 1/4 ts nutmeg. I also decreased the water to 1 tb, added 3 tb flour and 1 tb corn starch. I've made this 5 times now and its great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I'm confused.... All these 5 star ratings are not rating THIS recipe, but their own MODIFIED VERSION of this recipe. I followed it to the letter (except added cinnamon to the apples bc I know my husband prefers cinnamon in his apple pie) and the syrup did not run down into the apples, it just stayed one big blob on top. Now, once I took a piece out and mixed it together on my plate, it did taste excellent and is probably one of the best apple pies I've ever made TASTE-wise... But the pie itself looked like it should be featured on "Cake Wrecks" or something! My nephew was very disappointed that our pie didn't turn out LOOKING delicious (which to a 7 year old, how food looks is EVERYTHING!!!). Hoping I have time to make a new one and follow the modifications that some other reviewers have posted before my husband gets home tomorrow (I'm glad he wasn't here to see this one, he'd never let me live it down)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Been looking for a good apple pie recipe and I happened on this one. I have tried many but never did like the results. I read some of the suggestions and did what many did I added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1 T vanilla but did not decrease the water and also added about 1T of corn starch. Used the Granny Smith apples which I mixed with the butter sugar sauce and put in the egg washed bottom crust. I used a full top crust which I brushed with some of the sauce I set aside. OMG you have got to try this recipe it is to die for. Thank you so much Grandma Ople you are amazing now I can make a GREAT apple pie. I have made 2 in the last 3 days to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I consider myself a pretty good cook or at least that's what my friends and family has always told me. And I was quite embarrassed to admit I have never had any success in making pies. This recipe was not only easy to make but absolutely the best pie I have ever eaten! Do I have to divulge where I got this recipe from or can I keep it all for myself? Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leo
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
It amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have been making this recipe for quite a few years now, and I absolutely love it. I did however make a few additions to it, like I add vanilla, cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg, every once in a while I add caramel, but this is the base recipe and my family can't seem to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasYankeeCook
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This pie is outstanding! Normally i make my recipe but thought I'd try something new. THIS is now my go-to recipe! I did find that 8 apples was too many but will just do 5 next time (they were pretty large). Really a yummy pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've made this pie countless times and it has never failed. Best apple pie I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Ridiculously delicious! It was so good, one of my friends told me to sell them to the local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love love love this pie! I have made it a few times and its delicious so worth the work put into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States