Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Good, very sweet. Needs cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Made this last night-- delicious! I followed the suggestions and mixed in most of the syrup with the apples. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My husband loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe. The while family raved over how good it was. I basically only used the sauce and added pumpkin pie spice to it. Easy trick I have learned, add tapioca pearls to the bottom pie shell before adding your Apple mixture. Keeps the crust from going soggy. I also made pie crust from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RanDee Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
The main issue of this recipe is the crust. I would like the recipe please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Follow the directions and this is perfection. Do anything else and it won't be quite right. Wonderful directions, wonderful flavor; this pie gets me a ton of compliments whenever I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is so good! I followed a bunch of suggestions from other reviewers. These include: adding 1tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, 1T vanilla, 2T flour, 1T cornstarch, cloves, allspice to the syrup before simmering (minus the water). Also, I mixed the syrup with apples and saved some for the glaze on top. I used a 9" glass pie plate and baked on the middle shelf. The syrup for the glaze needs to be hot. Also, I brushed egg white on the bottom crust, put a baking tray covered in foil underneath to catch the drips. Bake at 350 degrees to minimize scorching. Prepare lattice and garnishes ahead and keep in fridge. Finally, 10min before pie is done, brush with a little milk and sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Francene George
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I tried the recipe and added a little spice,nutmeg and clove powder to the sauce mixture. It was wonderfully decadent. I like the idea of the video along with it,so one knows whether one is on target. The lattice top worked fine for me and I used up the ends of pastry to make a rose in the middle on top and brushed it with eggwash. I added just a sprinkle of brown sugar overall at the top,just before placing in the oven. I poured the syrup in an that worked fine as well for me. My family said it smells good whilst it was in the oven. One of my sons said, "What is that beautiful thing you are making there?" Thumbs up to Grandma Ople, I do intend to make it again with yet more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francene George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
The best apple pie that I have ever baked! I did substitute apple cider in place of the water. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 5,908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States