Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by mac030171
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made this for my co-workers and got rave reviews. The only tweaks I made was I used7 apples instead of 8 and I added cinnamon to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Best apple pie recipe ever! I followed directions exactly and loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabriela De Gracia Leftwich
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I made this applie pie for my husband birthday and he raved about it! Probably the best tasting apple pie I've ever had. Sour, sweet, perfect texture (not runny or mushy). Because I only had salted butter I used that, the insides still tasted great even with the salt. But, with my salty homemade crust it was a tad bit too salty altogether. As everyone suggested I baked at 350 for 1 hr and used a pan for drips...this was a must! Will definitely be making this for upcoming family holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
FOLLOWED THIS TO THE LETTER, & HAVE TO ADMIT IT WAS A STEP ABOVE. WILL BE BAKING IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perry, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I'm completely blown away by this pie. I screwed up the filling somehow--the sugar wouldn't combine with the butter. So I just sort of smeared the sugar onto the apples and then poured the butter over it. Didn't matter--the pie came out so delicious I could hardly believe it. I don't like Granny Smith apples, so I used my favorites--Honey Crisp. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg, plus a teaspoon of vanilla. I'm not a big fan of crispy crusts, so I only cooked the pie at an hour at 350. It was so soft and sweet and buttery and appley. For the crust, I used a Jiffy mix, but added three tablespoons of melted butter (instead of water) and a third of a cup of sugar, plus a quarter cup of white flour to make up for the extra liquid. The sweet crust really added to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Willihnganz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Followed the review changes and the pie was simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Best apple pie ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Slaton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
OMG I've tried other apple pie recipes before and they have always tasted not quite right...NOT THIS PIE! this pie is amazing and actually super easy to make. (once pastry made it took me about 30 mins to peel, cut, make sauce etc) The toffee (essentially that is what the sauce is) hardens quickly so have EVERYTHING ready before making this. I filled my pie dish with the cut apples and then poured the sauce on top and although it may not look like enough trust me it is as I used about 10 apples (mix of red and green) and the sauce combined with the apple juices make for a tasty tasty pie. I have saved some for my husband but am seriously contemplating stuffing my face with it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I gave it 5 stars before trying it...after so many great reviews and seeing the video I know its the exact recipe I have been looking for. I will try it this weekend. Just wondering if this same recipe could be used for pears also?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I'm a long time baker but new to baking pies, so I've been on a search for a really great pie dough and apple pie filling recipe. Tried Pinterest and didn't find anything that "wowed" me so I googled "apple pie" and found this one. It has so many great reviews that I figured it must be something special. I followed others' advice and made a few changes: used Honeycrisp & Granny Smith apples, added 1 tbsp cornstarch with the flour, mixed part of the caramel with the apples & added cinnamon to the mix, put a baking sheet underneath my pie to catch drippings, and baked at 350 degrees for the entire time. This is absolutely, without a doubt THE best pie I've ever tried or made! My husband even said it was better than his mom's (and she makes a pretty good apple pie)! I will be sticking with this recipe from now on. I don't think it can get much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Doudican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States