Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this pie last night, All I can say is that I love recipes that makes me look like a Rock Star Cook! It came out perfect. If any one has trouble with this recipe, watch the video first! So helpful, it gave me confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe twice and my family loved it! My nephew said he would bring his grades up if I made another one. Therefore, I'm in the kitchen now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elmer524
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is my go-to apple pie recipe. I have to make two of them or I won't get a bite! I usually sprinkle a little cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples before putting the lattice crust on. The caramel sauce, though, is the real finishing touch. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amom2all
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I am an experienced pie maker and after reading the reviews of this recipe I thought I would try it. I followed directions but only used 7 granny smith apples. I did add vanilla and cinnamon to the caramel mixture. Next time I will do as others did and add a thickener as well as mix some of the caramel mixture in with the apples before filling the pie pan with them. I will definitely pour the remaining caramel mixture over the crust because that was so delicious. Because I bake in a commercial convection oven, I did lower the temp to 300 degrees. For some reason I thought this pie was going to be much sweeter due to the caramel sauce but actually it is still a little tart, which I prefer. I will most definitely be making it again but with the changes I mentioned. I'm thinking this caramel sauce would be awesome over a peach pie too. Thank you to Grandma Opals family for sharing a treasured recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amom2all

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Selva Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
always make this as written and always comes out the best!! we love this apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kwald00
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This pie was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Hands down, it's the best apple pie I have ever eaten or made! Many offer changes to it, but none really need to be made. Follow the instructions and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I have no freaking idea what went wrong with this thing. I followed every direction, with no significant changes. The top part baked beautifully, but the inside was like a runny apple soup. Gross. Don't know why it has worked for thousands of others, but not me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
made this for thanksgiving and it was SOOO GOOD also made it AGAIN shortly after. So simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmills2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is definitely my favorite--I've made it now for several occasions and it comes out beautifully every time. The only thing I do differently is to use all brown sugar--because I'm a big fan of brown sugar! Delicious. I've done it both with a lattice crust and a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,827) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States