Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is excellent! I made it for my family and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Outstanding!!! I made this with my mom but with gluten free flour for the filling instead and it was delicious. We made it on Thanksgiving and it was the perfect treat. I do suggest eating it with some vanilla ice cream for the perfect flavor. If your filling came out totally messed up like mine did the first time, you probably just messed up the order of the ingredients. We were really frustrated because the butter totally separated away from the flour, sugar, and water but after watching the video we realized that you have to put the ingredients in a different order then the recipe says. You have to put the butter in first, then the flour, then the two sugars(one at a time), and then add the water last. Make sure the ingredient that you have put in the saucepan is completely incorporated into the filling before adding the next ingredient. That should do the trick. This is a need to try recipe and I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
We loved this apple pie, & are THANKFUL for Grandma Ople's recipe. I added 1/2 tspn vanilla, 1/8 tspn cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. Here are some common baking sense ideas for the novice baker (and those who gave less than rave reviews): Make sure to use Granny Smith apples as called for in order to balance tartness with the sweetness of the caramel sauce. If you choose to use sweeter apples that you have on hand, you have to substitute with a teaspoon or 2 of lemon juice for some of the water. Also, juicier apples may require more thickener. You can toss an extra tspn. or 2 of flour into your apples and toss them around to coat. For those of you who thought it needed salt, add a dash, or use salted butter. Also, if you are adding cinnamon, toss it with your apples to lightly coat them. Okay...Melt the butter on low-medium heat. Using a whisk, whisk in flour to form a paste, add water, whisk, & immediately add sugar. Whisk until it starts to bubble. Put on low & simmer for 3-5 min. to carmelize. Taste & adjust (Salt? Vanilla?). Pressed for time? Or not up to making the lattice crust? Then pile apples in bottom pie shell, Pour sauce all over apples. Put on top crust. Fold bottom crust up over top crust and crimp. Put at LEAST 6 open slits in top crust so steam can escape, juice can thicken & it should not overflow. Use at least a 9" deep dish pie plate, or 10" if shallow plate. Bake as directed. Do not forget to put LOVE into it! Yum! TY MOSHASMAMA and Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was impressed by the over 6000 reviews... and took Leslie Sullivan's suggestions and baked it according to her directions. I am not a novice baker and always asked to bring the dessert. This apple pie was terrible. I used granny smith apples and diligently cut them into uniform slices. My apple where undercooked and the flavor was less than desirable. I used high quality Penzey spices. Sadly this pie was only 1/3 eaten and the rest given an undignified funeral in the garbage. I will stick to my family's traditional crumb topping apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delicious... I did not like apple pie but cooked this for my 7 year old. However, when I tasted the pie it was delicious, my family love the pie. I did add; vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few drops of lemon juice. But the process of making the sauce, mixing the apples and peaches with part of the sauce, pouring the sauce over crust was important. I will always make this for the holiday. My daughter went crazy for the pie and she never eats apple! Thank you, for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
First time ever making a pie and it was easy and everyone loved it!! Added vanilla, cinnamon ,and 6 apples as suggested. Only trouble was trying to brush rest of syrup onto lattice and ended up breaking it a bit. Awesome pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EatWell
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This recipe never fails to impress! Try different types of apples for subtle changes in flavor. My favorite is a 50/50 mix of Granny Smith (tart) and Cortland (sweet) apples! I also recommend brushing an egg baste (whisk an egg with a Tablespoon of water and apply with a pastry brush) onto the lattice, topped with a little cinnamon for a golden finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I was kind of stuck making our this year for thanksgiving. I have never made a pie so this was my first. The only thing I changed was added a tsp of cinnamon and that's because my husband is a cinnamon eating fool! Everyone and I mean EVERYONE loved this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It was extremely bland and tasteless. The filling had no flavor-not enough apple taste, it wasn't caramelly, or too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The best part of my Thanksgiving was THIS pie! I've been making my same old pie for years and at the last minute, I decided to try something new. Best decision ever! My husband is the big pie eater in our family and many times I won't even take a bite of what I've made, but now, I believe I've become a Grandma Ople pie eater! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States