Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best i have tried so far. I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
We went apple picking per our girl's birthday request so for sure we got stuck with pounds of empire apples. I did some research and found out that this variety is actually an all-purpose kind so that it would be perfect for an apple pie. Perfect balance of tart and sweet. Using Ruth's Grandma's pie crust recipe found on this site, too, I followed the recipe to the letter except with the addition of a tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg. I felt it needed some spice as I customarily make my pies. This recipe is definitely a keeper and I understand why it got so many positive reviews. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by randiiowa
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We love it. I changed it a little after making it a couple of times. My family preferred the sugar mixture poured over before the latice crust was put on and the sprinkling cinnamon and sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I went apple picking, so I had freshly picked apples. This recipe was on point, delicious. Coming from not a apple pie fancier lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Hi All, this is my go to apple pie recipe. As is it needs little to no adjusting, although, I would add a pinch of salt to the syrup to help balance out the sweetness. This go round, I doubled the flour--apples around here this time of the year are very "watery." I squeezed half a lemon over the apples and tossed in about 1 tsp of cinnamon. I took out a tbs of water and added a tbs of vanilla bourbon in its place. I did use the lattice top crust and poured through the weave. I let the pie sit for several hours to allow the juices to set. Folks, this pie is HIPS and THIGHS waiting to be born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Way too liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
First time baking apple pie. It was really simple and easy to make. The family loved it! My only regret was using a Ready made pie crust which I didn't care for, but my family enjoyed it. Next time I will use another type of crust. I followed the recipe to a "t" and it came out perfect. Will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Terrific recipe! I used Honeycrisp and Grannysmith apples, and I added a dash of cinnamon to the liquid. I've made it a few times, and sometimes I cheat and use store bought pie crust, but my own homemade crust makes it just that much better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have made this pie several times. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cristina
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My favorite and go to apple pie recipe every time. I usually don't like apple pie but this recipe makes me love it! A yearly tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States