Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Fabulous! I used the following suggestions: Baked by temperatures as directed. Added 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp cinnamon and sprinkle of nutmeg.. Not over powering, used 4 1/2 large Granny Smith apples.. Next time I will use 5-6 apples, used half of sauce to mix with apples and half to top. Great with Grandmas Ruth Pie Crust which made 3 crusts so I did a lattice topping for one pie and a crumb topping for the other pie.. Both awesome! A new 4th of July tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I stuck with the Grandma theme and used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe and I didn't have any trouble! If you're like me and not the type to plan ahead, the crust needs to chill for a couple of hours. I put mine in the freezer for an hour because I had already started slicing apples. I suggest waiting until you've filled the pie and put the lattice top on to start making the filling. It only takes like five minutes and then you won't be rushing and panicking about it seizing up on you while making the top. After slicing apples, I measured out all the ingredients that I would need so I would be able to do it quickly. For the water I added a splash of apple juice and vanilla and I added about a tsp of cinnamon to the sugars. I sliced my apples pretty thin and as I sliced them, I put them in a big bowl of water and lemon juice. This kept them from getting brown. After I rolled the bottom crust onto my pan, I brushed every part with an egg wash. I took the apples out of the bowl and tossed them with a little cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice before piling in the crust. I added the lattice top and then I prepared the filling. If it's too runny, then it's a problem with the roux because mine thickened up very quickly. If it's too thick, add more water. It should pour out like syrup. Take your time pouring it over the pie and use a brush to get the outer edges once you're done. Line a baking sheet. Baked uncovered at 425, tent with foil for the rest. Really is an amazing pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe came out awesome. I made two pies. One regular and I added sugar and cinnamon on top. One with agave and I added cinnamon and truvia on top. They came out delicious everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickey Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I took other suggestions and mixed the apples with the sauce instead of pouring it over. I also reserved a little bit for the top crust. This was very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I make this apple pie all the time - but never understood pouring the sauce over the crust like the directions say. I did it that way the first couple times and it was messy and felt a little wonky. Now I pour it over the apples and then put the crust on top. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jin-Ah Kim
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Amazing! I've made this countless times at work for my disabled adult clients. They love it so much I made it 4 times in a week! No tweaking necessary, perfect as is :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jin-Ah Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This came out great! I didn't have to worry about apples browning because of the syrup. I added some cinnamon, but otherwise follwed the recipe. It was gone in 24 hours! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA
Photo by swtdreaming18
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It was delicious! I did follow other people's recommendations: Stuck with granny smith apples, not too tart at all! (Used 4.5 for a 9inch pie, sliced it and it filled up very nicely; 2 tbsp of cornstarch, although next time I'll reduce it to 1 tbsp because it seized up very quickly and became a bit too gloopy so I had to spoon it on top of the apples but I did do it in layers so that it was still well incorporated; 1 tbsp of cinnamon; 1 tbsp of vanilla; Dash of nutmeg; I was wary of how sweet it would be since it calls for almost 1 cup of sugar (1/2 white, 1/2 brown) so I just put in 3/4 cup of sugar and it was perfect; My syrup wasn't syrupy anymore since the cornstarch seized it up so I just brushed it with egg white and sprinkled coarse sugar on top; Baked it 45 mins at 350 degrees and it came out perfect, crust was perfect, apples were soft I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was a HUGE hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
OMG! That was the best apple pie I've ever had. I did add the tap. of cinnamon to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 5,936) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States