Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Made this for the first time - family loved it. Assembled the pie first, then made the sauce so I could pour it on without it getting too sticky. Rather than pour it from the pan, I put the sauce in a measuring cup - made the pouring easier. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was a disaster. I followed the directions exactly and it didn't have a good distribution of syrup and spilled over and made a mess of my oven. I retried the recipe 2 days later and it came out great with a couple of adjustments. First off I mixed the majority of the syrup in with the apples as I added them to the pie crust, saving just enough to brush some syrup over the top of the pie crust. Secondly, I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to the syrup concoction. Thirdly, I placed a cookie sheet on the bottom rack and cooked the pie on the middle rack so any spillage would be caught by the cookie sheet. I also use 3 types of apples to give it more variety: Granny Smith, Stayman (Winesap), and Cortland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Louise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My Dad knows his apples.. he has an orchard he likes them so much. I used this hoping I would be able to make a pie worthy of the Thanksgiving table. Not only did it pass, this recipe BLEW HIS SOCKS OFF. He & our family (even my dessert-hating husband) said it was the best pie they've ever had. I shared the love & sent the recipe to our guests giving the legendary Grandma Ople full credit for her creation. My only bitty comment is that it bubbles over and will cause a smoke storm in your oven if you don't put a cookie sheet or oven liner beneath. Thanks Grandma O. You have made my Dad a happy happy guy, which means a lot to his doting daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! For those of you experiencing runny syrup: Try making the pie the day before, after cooling, place in refrigerator and let it set overnight until ready to serve. Pieces can then be heated in the microwave by slice, if you want warm apple pie. I haven't tried reheating in the oven, so I don't know how that would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First time I ever got a hug for making a pie. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Brooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious. My husband said this was the best pie I ever made. I did use Fugi apples instead of Granny Smiths and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilxdax929
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So good! I used an 8 inch pie plate instead of a 9 inch one, so I used 3 apples which was more than enough. Other than that I did the recipe exactly the way it said. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T PIE
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
First time making a pie, this was so easy and my husband loved it, I love the brown sugar crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enisi
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a very tasty pie! My whole family loved it. I made it as written except poured 2/3 of mixture over apples before putting on lattice crust (per other reviews), then brushed the rest over the top. It was absolutely the best apple pie I have ever eaten. Make sure you use the Granny Smith apples called for in the recipe...they are firm and tart enough to balance the sweetness. This will be my go-to apple pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Well, good-bye every other apple pie recipe I've tried; HELLO, this one! My man asked for "a bit more tart" in this year's Thanksgiving dessert. The pour-on bit worked perfectly to balance the tart Granny Smith and winesaps I used. Delicious! Question: Does anyone know if it can br pre-made, frozen, then thawed and baked later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Jennifer Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States