Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The very first apple pie I made, and it came out delicious. One of my cousins who is not a fan of apple pies already asked me to make it for Christmas!!! I didn't realize the pastry was not part of the recipe, and it was too late to run to the grocery store to get one already made. I had to search online for a while to find one with the ingredients I had at home. Other than that, it was easy to make, and it was absolutely delicious. I did add a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg like some of the reviewers suggested. Just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbv
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I had extra pie crust from a pumpkin pie I made and I decided to try to bake an apple pie. I'm not big on pies in general so I was just "ehhhh" about the whole thing. Well, besides the annoyance of peeling and cutting the dang apples, it was so easy to make and omg seriously woaaaahhh..... Once this thing came out of the oven I almost fell on my booty! Nom nom!!! I actually added a bit of pumpkin spice to the butter mix before pouring it over the apples, but even without it in sure it would have been spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is a great recipe but not perfect. What?? No cinnamon, no nutmeg?? It's a great place to start and makes a wonderful pie filling but you need to experiment with the spices. I ended up adding 2 t cinnamon and 1/2 t nutmeg to the sauce and that seems to work well for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlang94
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
My minor changes were no white sugar, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and a squeeze of lemon juice into the butter mix while cooking. This recipe is great and makes an awesome pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is perfect. No apple pie I have made has turned out so beautifully. The apples were sweet, tart, and just crisp enough. The filling held everything together, even when I served it warm. And everyone loved it. Just the sound of forks clinking and sounds of "mmm" all around the table. Thank you, I am looking so forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Awesome, especially with home crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Great filling, but it all pours out when cutting the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andriy Moraru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Great PIE! make sure that you put enough butter. the mix should be smooth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liav Azran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Singing Cowgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Hands down the best apple pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 6,448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States