Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was my first Thanksgiving making the whole meal myself. This was also my first time to ever make an apple pie without buying it already made from the store. I have to say this apple pie was the best I have ever had and my family said the same thing!! You can't go wrong with this apple pie!! I didn't change anything about the recipe..it was fantastic!!! I will use this recipe every year from now on...a new family tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
It was good! Will definitely make it again. My apples must have been very big because I was left with a lot of extra slices that would not fit into pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Fabulous recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was my first time making apple pie and I'm so glad that I found this recipe My family loved this pie.I read some reviews and followed there tips adding 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon and a pinch of nutmage, it gave it a grate taste. If you haven't tried this recipe I highly recommended, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
It's still in the oven but I can definitely warn everyone that step #1 should be step #2. The syrup gets very thick standing until the preparation of the apples and crust is completed. When I poured it over the pie it just congealed on top and would not seep through the lattice work. It is running off into my oven though! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I will definatly be making this recipe anytime I want apple pie. The flavor was wonderful and I loved the crunch that the syrup gave the top crust (I didn't bother carefully pouring it through the lattice and the syrup that ran over the crust got a delicious candy-like crust). Word of advice, plan to prepare the syrup and pour while hot (cut the apples THEN make the syrup). Mine cooled slightly and had a gooey consistency by the time I was ready to pour it over the apples and then crust (I followed recommendations and poured 2/3 of syrup over the mounded apple slices and the remaining 1/3 was poured over the lattice crust). I was extremely nervous about the outcome of the pie because of my syrup hiccup but WOW! best apple pie I've ever made! Next time I'll forgoe the lattice cuz that's a huge pain... instead I'll just cut some decorative holes for venting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Delicious!! I added cinnamon per reviews & my family loved it!! Definitely adding this to my recipe collection! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made two pies using this recipe for thanksgiving and they were both so good. The second pie I actually ended up using Braeburn apples and that was even better than the one with granny Smith apples in my opinion. The Braeburns did seem to give up a bit more juice than the GS though. The next time I usu Braeburns, I will probably dust them with some cornstarch. My sister in law said it was the best apple pie she ever had and my mother (who prides herself on her pies) wants me to give her the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Awesome! I added some cinnamon and it was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snelson61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 5,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States