Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
A great pie, i keep coming back to this! I do make some changes like soak my apple slices in water with some lemon juice to keep from going brown while i prepare everything else. Also i toss my apples in a bit of flour and add half the syrup to which i add the vanilla, nutmeg and some cinnamon to taste. I think the mistake some people are making is not cooking this syrup long enough to that is becomes just that- syrup. if cooked to just about boiling and simmers it become a thick caramel. within 10 mins on LOW, very very low to keep from burning. Try that and maybe you will enjoy a thicker pie. Wait til cool and set up before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I used this pie filling recipe to make a crisp. It came out absolutely outrageous! I had tons of apples so I doubled the recipe, using dark brown sugar. Poured over top of the apples in a deep 9x13 dish. The filling came out like caramel, with addition of adding 2 tsp of cinnamon. I used Granny Smith. Topping: 1 cup quick oats 1 cup flour 1 cup sugar 1/4 tsp baking soda 1/4 tsp baking powder 1/2 cup butter, melted Combine dry ingredients in a food processor, pulse to combine. Drizzle butter through the opening, while pulsing until moist. Squeeze in hands as you sprinkle over the top of the apples. Makes plenty of topping. Bake at 350 for one hour or until bubbly, golden brown, and apples are soft. This combination is the best apple dessert I have ever made. It will surely win awards...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine0120

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Wonderful recipe, made several times and there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and I wasn't crazy with the pie. The syrup made it very similar to a store bought super sugary gooey apple pie. I would've gone to the store and spent the 4.99 if that's what I was going for. Not my idea of a homemade pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Munson
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Amazing! The only thing I did different was tossed my apples in cinnamon and a little nutmeg.. And I had my Apple pieces sliced very small like baby bite sized because it was for mini pies...but I bet it'd be great in a big pie! See my pic above of my mini pies...they were so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Munson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was by far the best apple pie recipe I have tried! I added a little bit of cinnamon to the filling and made a lattice crust. My little Mennonite grandma said it was the best apple pie she has ever had! Very high praise! Has become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This really was that good!! DON'T skip the part where you pour the sauce over the top crust.....it's almost the best part!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Kajer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by armywife924
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Okay so I tweeked the recipe some. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves. I didn't add the last apple. And I also used salted butter. It is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshine
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Absolutely delectable!! Thanks for sharing the recipe! I've made the pie twice now. Once during the Christmas holiday and once over Easter weekend. It was amazing both times! This was my first pie from scratch and wow, is it ever a winner! I read many comments and made a few CHANGES: I used 6 vs 8 apples in a 9" glass pie pan (though I'm sure 8 would be fine). I added 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp vanilla (because I love the taste of them). I added 1 tsp cornstarch (to minimize the chance of the pie being runny). I brushed egg white on the bottom crust before pouring apples in it (to keep the crust firm). I baked it the entire time at 340 degrees vs. 425. The pie was perfect and didn't scorch at all. MY PROCESS? I made lattice first and put it in the fridge while peeling apples. I then made the sauce and poured half over the apples. Everything worked well, except the remaining sauce began to crystallize before I'd poured it over the lattice. So, I brushed it on (which worked fine). The second time I made the pie, I made half of the sauce first and poured it over the apples before putting the lattice on top. I later made the rest of the sauce and poured it over the lattice. Worked very well. I covered crust edges with foil (to prevent premature browning) and baked on a lower rack. NOTE: The first time I made the pie, I wasn't sure if I wanted to pour sauce over it. By ALL MEANS do!!! It adds a light appley, cinnamony-sugary glaze that makes the crust INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Best apple pie i have ever eaten by far! very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Montgomery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States